Weekly Running Log Update (4 April 2011 ~ 10 April 2011)

Pretty satisfying week for running.  I was able to consistently train and didn’t miss any of my planned workouts.  Ran a total of 31 miles this week, incorporating a interval, tempo (5K), and long-run.  I also finished the first six week KettleWorX program and will embark on the advanced program starting next week.  Also, got in my walking, stretching and yoga routines as planned.  However, probably the most satisfying aspect of running this week was setting a new PR in the 5K.  I’ve never broke 19 minutes and during my 5K tempo, I did it in 18:46, well under 19 minutes.  I also ran it on a windy morning at 4:30 a.m., so I’m confident that if I ran it at a normal hour and in less windy conditions, I could break 18:30, which will be my next short-term goal in this distance.  But with a 10K race planned in about a month, I will be focusing my attention on breaking the 40 minute barrier for this race.

Below is a summary of my training this past week.

Monday – KettleWorX Resistance Training (26 minutes), followed by 20 minutes of yoga.

Tuesday – Interval Run (7 miles, 1 mile warm-up, 6 X 800s, averaged 3:07 pace per interval, 3 minute rest between intervals, 1 mile cool-down)

Wednesday – Rest day, did 30 minutes of light yoga.

Thursday – KettleWorX Core Training (26 minutes), followed by 20 minutes of yoga.

Friday – Tempo Run (8 miles, 1 mile warm-up, 5K tempo at 6:03 pace, 3.7-mile cool-down)

Saturday – KettleWorX Cardio Training (26 minutes), followed by 20 minutes of yoga.

Sunday – Long Run (15 miles, average 7:09 pace)

About runninginspired

I’m in my mid-40s and have been running for about 19 years. I have finished 24 marathons with a personal best time of 3:04. I currently reside in San Diego, CA. I enjoy running since it keeps you honest and will give back what you put into it. Work hard, but smart, and good results will eventually follow. I like to experiment with training plans, gadgets, shoes, and nutrition to find what works for me. The primary purpose of this blog is to document my training and thoughts about running in my ongoing quest to improve my fitness and health.
This entry was posted in Race Reports, Running, Training and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

