Hands Down, the Best Soft Cream in Japan

MooMoo's Soft Cream

Soft Cream, as they call it here in Japan, is ice cream that is softer than regular ice cream – like what you would get at Dairy Queen.  This treat is ubiquitous in Japan and comes in a number of wild and unique flavors – wasabi, sesame, ume or plum, rose, pumpkin, peach, and grape, just to name a few.  I personally like regular ice cream over soft cream, but there is this place in downtown Zushi that has the best soft cream I’ve ever eaten.

The place is called “MooMoo’s” and is located right across the street from Shin-Zushi Station (Keikyu Zushi Line).  The ice cream shop can’t be more than 200 square feet and they have a pretty straight forward menu – soft cream and coffee.  They rotate flavors out every few weeks and usually have two or three to choose from.  This week’s flavors were rum-raisin and crunchy cafe milk.  I decided on the rum-raisin cone and my wife got the crunchy cafe cone – just to be different.  I’m not sure what their secret is, but their soft cream is so smooth and creamy and has such a pure and satisfying taste, that it puts all other soft cream I’ve ever tasted to shame.  In fact, since we had our first soft cream cone at this little shop about 4 years ago, I have yet to find anything that compares in quality.  From what I understand, they use fresh milk from a farm in Hayama.

Rum-Raisin Soft Cream

The place is making a mint too.  We sat there for about 10 minutes eating our little taste of heaven and there must have been about 20 people who stopped by to grab a cone.  At an average price of 350 yen (or US$4.35) per con, the margins must be incredible because there certainly not a lot of overhead required for this business.  I’m estimating the owner is easily clearing six figures in profits from this dinky operation.  And every time we have visited this place, there are always people sitting around eating soft cream.  It just goes to show you that you don’t need some large complicated business to make good money – a simple menu, high quality product, low overhead and good location seems to be all they needed to have a highly successful business.

So if you are ever find yourself in the city of Zushi, I highly recommend you stop by this little unassuming soft cream shop and I think you’ll be very delighted with the experience.

Front of MooMoo's Soft Cream

About runninginspired

I’m in my mid-40s and have been running for about 19 years. I have finished 24 marathons with a personal best time of 3:04. I currently reside in San Diego, CA. I enjoy running since it keeps you honest and will give back what you put into it. Work hard, but smart, and good results will eventually follow. I like to experiment with training plans, gadgets, shoes, and nutrition to find what works for me. The primary purpose of this blog is to document my training and thoughts about running in my ongoing quest to improve my fitness and health.
This entry was posted in Japan, Restaurant Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hands Down, the Best Soft Cream in Japan

  1. Josh whitaker says:

    Couldnt agree more!! I was recently stationed in Japan and live in ikego. It is one train stop from shin zushi and my family and I make regular trips here. The cup of soft cream with the corn flakes on the bottom is the kiddos favorite!!

Leave a Reply

