Weekly Running Log Update (25 April 2011 ~ 1 May 2011)

Solid week of training as I going into a taper week for the 10K this upcoming Saturday.  I did my routine KettleWorX/Yoga core fitness training on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday.  On Tuesday I did my interval training, running 8 X 800s (2:51 per interval – 5:42/minute pace, 90 seconds rest between intervals) on the treadmill at a 2% incline.  Last week when I did 7 X 800s, I thought I was going to give out, but this week’s 800s seemed easier and I did one extra because I had it in me.  I followed this run up on Thursday with a progressive 8 mile tempo run (1 mile warm-up, 6 miles tempo averaging 6:29/mile pace – started at 6:40/mile pace, closed it out at sub 6:15/mile, and 1 mile cool-down).  I did the tempo run on the treadmill (2.5% incline to mimic outside running) the past week because it was rainy and windy outside.  I closed my training week on Saturday with a 10-mile long run, averaging a 6:43 pace.  Hitting my paces this week came a little easier for me, although I didn’t sleep nearly as well during the week.

This week I’m in taper mode as I rest and recover for the 10K next weekend.  Although the intensity of each run will be the same, the number of miles will be cut significantly.  I plan to do about 6 X 400s on Monday, followed by a 5 mile tempo run on Wednesday.  I will continue to do my routine kettlebell and yoga training on Tuesday and Thursday.  Friday will be a total rest day from training, but will probably do a restorative yoga session to keep loose.  I’m also looking to get a solid 8 hours of sleep every night this week and stay hydrated with water.  Nutrition wise, I’m going to eat lots of fruits, vegetables, rice, pasta, whole wheat and tofu to keep they fuel as clean as possible.

Since I only ran one run outside this week, I only have a link to my long run below.

Long Run (10 miles)

About runninginspired

I’m in my mid-40s and have been running for about 19 years. I have finished 24 marathons with a personal best time of 3:04. I currently reside in San Diego, CA. I enjoy running since it keeps you honest and will give back what you put into it. Work hard, but smart, and good results will eventually follow. I like to experiment with training plans, gadgets, shoes, and nutrition to find what works for me. The primary purpose of this blog is to document my training and thoughts about running in my ongoing quest to improve my fitness and health.
This entry was posted in Running, Training and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

