Restaurant Review: Morocca

A friend suggested we eat at a small restaurant named Morocca located in the Kannai area of Yokohama.  They serve Moroccan cuisine, which I never eaten before, so I was certainly up for trying it.  Since I was off today, the wife and I decided we would take a 5-minute train ride from Negishi Station to Kannai Station and have lunch at this hole in the wall restaurant.

I can say without hesitation that this was one of the best meals I’ve eaten at a restaurant in a long time.  The place was very small, seats about 18 and is probably no bigger than an average master size bedroom.  It was nicely decorated with a Moroccan decor and felt intimate and cozy.  There were R&B songs from the 60s playing lightly in the background.  There is one young lady who cooks and serves the food and I’m assuming she owns and pretty much does everything.  We arrived a little after 11:30 a.m. and were the first customers of the day.  It was just me and my wife for about 30 minutes, then a stream of ladies started arriving just after noon.  By the time we left, the place was almost full.

Chapati Pizza

Salad

Cabbage Soup

Chicken Dish

Yogurt

Coffee

For lunch, you had three lunch set choices.  I had chapati pizza and what appeared to be some type of cabbage soup and my wife had a chicken dish and what looked like rice, but wasn’t really rice – sorry don’t know the name of it.  There was a third curry lunch set dish which we didn’t order.  The lunch also came with a small salad, yogurt, and coffee.  The lunch size was just right, felt adequately full but not overstuffed.  The cost of each lunch set meal was a very reasonable 800 yen (about US$10).

The place is a bit hidden, so please click herefor the map.  Overall, excellent restaurant and we’ll definitely be coming back.

Inside Morocca

About runninginspired

I’m in my mid-40s and have been running for about 19 years. I have finished 24 marathons with a personal best time of 3:04. I currently reside in San Diego, CA. I enjoy running since it keeps you honest and will give back what you put into it. Work hard, but smart, and good results will eventually follow. I like to experiment with training plans, gadgets, shoes, and nutrition to find what works for me. The primary purpose of this blog is to document my training and thoughts about running in my ongoing quest to improve my fitness and health.
This entry was posted in Restaurant Reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Restaurant Review: Morocca

  1. Pingback: Yokohama: A Walkable City | Running Inspired Blog

Leave a Reply

