New York City Marathon Training Plan

As mentioned in a previous post, I was fortunate to be selected to run the 2011 New York City Marathon this November.  I’ve put considerable thought into my training plan and have outlined it below (click on plan to see larger view).  My goal is to run a sub-3:10, which should secure me a spot to register for the 2013 Boston Marathon.  The plan maxes out at 43 miles per week.  I plan to run 4 times per week, incorporating an interval, tempo, easy, and long run each week.  Because the New York City Marathon is a relatively hilly course, I’ve incorporated hill training into my interval runs.  When not running hills, I will be doing most of my interval training on a treadmill at 2% incline.  I find the treadmill keeps me honest when it comes to interval training (see my blog post on treadmill running).  Also, when the weather is not good, I plan to utilize the treadmill to maintain schedule.  On the days I do not run, I will be cross-training using kettlebell workouts and yoga.  In addition, I may substitute some races (5K, 10K and half marathons) for my weekly tempo run when it’s convenient.  I’m maintaining my current fitness using the base week until mid-July and will begin embarking on the 16 week training plan the week of July 18th.  Every week I will post a training log update outlining how I met or did not meet my training plan.

NY Marathon Training Plan (Weeks 1 - 7)

NY Marathon Training Plan (Weeks 8 - 16)

About runninginspired

I’m in my mid-40s and have been running for about 19 years. I have finished 24 marathons with a personal best time of 3:04. I currently reside in San Diego, CA. I enjoy running since it keeps you honest and will give back what you put into it. Work hard, but smart, and good results will eventually follow. I like to experiment with training plans, gadgets, shoes, and nutrition to find what works for me. The primary purpose of this blog is to document my training and thoughts about running in my ongoing quest to improve my fitness and health.
This entry was posted in Marathons, Running, Training and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New York City Marathon Training Plan

  1. Pingback: Tokyo Marathon Training Plan | Running Inspired Blog

Leave a Reply

