21 Days Until the New York Marathon – Training Update

It is now less than three weeks until the New York Marathon.  Training last week was very good, but this past week was just okay.  Last week I met or exceeded my pace goals, but this week, I was pretty flat and had a pretty lousy long run today.  Probably has a lot to do with having to travel on business for 4 days to Thailand, which messed with my normal running and exercise routine.  That’s the thing with running, there are lots of peaks and valleys, and you just need to roll with the punches and not get too concerned with a bad run every so often.

But I’m confident that I’ve put in the proper training to run a sub 3:10 marathon, assuming good running conditions.  However, there are a lot of variables on race day that you just can’t control, particularly the weather, so as confident as I am, I know I’ll need to be flexible in order to run the smartest race and not get too hung up with time only.

I start my three week taper period tomorrow, where the mileage will be gradually reduced, although the intensity of each run will stay the same.  I plan to do one hard interval run later this week, Yasso 800s, to gauge my fitness level.  But I think my body is ready for some healing, although this has probably been the best training cycle where I experienced very few nagging pains and no injuries, allowing me to consistently run through when I started the training cycle back in July.

Below is a summary of training runs over the past two weeks.  In between running days, I did core training with the kettlebell, yoga, and some bike riding.

Interval (Tuesday, 10/4) – Legs were flat and a bit sore today, still recovering from long run on Sunday. Very good running weather, 61 degrees, 48% humidity, N 10 mph wind, 41 degree dewpoint. Ran 3 x 1600m intervals, with 400m rest between intervals. Missed goal which was to run each interval in 6 minutes. 10 minute warm-up 1st mile – 6:06 Rest 400m 2nd mile – 6:01 Rest 400m 3rd mile – 6:07 Rest 400m Cooldown 10 minutes Got about 8 hours sleep last night, no pains, ran in Newtons.

Tempo (Friday, 10/7) – Good run today. Nice running weather, 66 degrees, 64% humidity, NNW 16 mph wind, 54 degree dewpoint. Kept a steady pace throughout most of the run, ranging from 6:20 ~ 6:45 per mile. Got a good night sleep, solid 8 hours. No pains. Ran in Newtons.

Long Run (Sunday, 10/9) – Good run today, but felt fatigue the last couple miles so difficult to push the pace, bit dehydrated. Didn’t take in any fluids during this run. Okay running weather, 66 degrees, 64% humidity, NNE 10 mph wind, 55 degree dew point. One more hard week with a 24 mile long run next weekend before the taper begins. So far, this has been a pretty good training cycle, probably my best going into a marathon. I’m really a big advocate of the FIRST training program (three quality runs and two days of cross-training) and probably in a couple weeks I’ll begin commuting to work by bicycle a couple times a week (about 25 – 30 miles round-trip) as the cross-training component. About 7.5 hours sleep. Ran in Newtons. No pains.

Hill Intervals (Tuesday, 10/11) – 12 x 400s up a steep hill, jog 400m downhill. Good training, but painful. (Weather: 66 degrees, 78% humidity, NNE 7 mph wind, 59 degree dewpoint). No pains, 7 hours sleep, ran in Newtons.

Tempo (Friday, 10/14) – Solid run today, 1 mile warm-up, 7 miles @ tempo pace. Average tempo pace of 6:43. Little warm and humid tonight (74 degrees, 69% humidity, SSE 10 mph wind, 63 degree dewpoint). Just got back from travel to Thailand, traveling all day. Got about 6 hours sleep last night. Bit dehydrated. Ran in Newtons. No pains.

Long Run (Sunday, 10/16) – Felt like summer again. 81 degrees, 65% humidity, S 16 mph wind, 68 degree dewpoint. When I started the run, humidity was over 80%. I felt flat from the beginning to the end. I was hoping to run 40K today, but after 36K, I knew it was time to quit. I was also hoping to run at a sub 7:30 pace, but just didn’t have it in me. Tried to drink enough fluids, took in over 2 liters during run (and 3 gels), but it was not enough, very dehydrated at the end — started the run at 144 lbs and finished at 136 lbs, losing 8 lbs during the run. I’m usually okay losing up to 6 lbs, but it goes downhill real quick after 7 or 8 lbs. More than 8 lbs, I’m done. Not the greatest confidence builder as the last long run going into my taper, but sometimes there are just disappointing days like this. Just praying marathon day will be cold and dry. Ran in Newtons (soaked with sweat), got 9 hours sleep last night, no pains.

About runninginspired

I’m in my mid-40s and have been running for about 19 years. I have finished 24 marathons with a personal best time of 3:04. I currently reside in San Diego, CA. I enjoy running since it keeps you honest and will give back what you put into it. Work hard, but smart, and good results will eventually follow. I like to experiment with training plans, gadgets, shoes, and nutrition to find what works for me. The primary purpose of this blog is to document my training and thoughts about running in my ongoing quest to improve my fitness and health.
This entry was posted in Marathons, Running, Training and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 21 Days Until the New York Marathon – Training Update

  1. fiberliza says:

    Hi, I have been reading your posts. I too am going to NYC in a few weeks. I just wanted to say “Good running!” You have done fantastic training, very disciplined…and your marathon tempo run a while back was amazing. I don’t think you have anything to worry about 🙂

    I’d say “see you at the starting line,” but your goal time puts you way up ahead of me 😉 So I’ll just say “may the wind be at your back, and your foot steps be light and true.”

    • Thanks for the comment and encouragement. I’m really looking forward to running this once in a lifetime event in one of the greatest cities in the world.

      Best of luck with your final training and race!

Leave a Reply

