New York City Marathon Expo

I picked up my number at the expo this morning.  Although crowded, it was a smooth process.  It was a good size expo, but thought it was going to be much larger.  The Tokyo and Houston Marathons seemed to have bigger expos.  After collecting my number and goody bag, I walked around the expo for an hour.  I didn’t buy anything except for a $10 throwaway paper jacket that you wear at the start to stay warm and tear off and throw away once you’re warmed up.

After the expo, I decided to do some more sightseeing.  First I went to Empire State Building then the Museum of Modern Art (MoMA).  Lots of walking today, my lower back was beginning to hurt.  Need to take it easy the next two days.  I slept so-so last night, but with all the walking today, I should sleep good tonight.

Plan to do a short 3 mile run tomorrow morning to keep the legs limber.  This will be my last run before the marathon on Sunday.

Below are some pictures from my day.

Hopped on the subway at Queens Plaza to Penn Station, then walked to the expo at Javits Center.

Random photo on my walk from Penn Station to Javits Center.

Entrance at Javits Center.

There was a long line to get your number, but it went pretty fast. Probably had to wait about 20 minutes.

Picking up my number.

New York CIty Marathon Expo

Timex Booth

Hal Higdon signing his new book.

Random photo, Sunlight Diner.

New Yorker

Random photo.

NYC post office.

Front of Macy's.

Empire State Building

Photo from top of Empire State Building, Hudson River in background.

New York City

New York City

Top of Empire State Building.

New York City

New York City

New York City

Empire State Building entrance.

Lunch - Veggie Sandwich

Random photo.

Another UNIQLO?!? I think this is the third one I've seen...growing like weeds.

MoMA

MoMA

MoMA

MoMA

MoMA

MoMA

MoMA, this photo was really interesting since it was taken in the same city of where I work. It was also taken about the same time my Dad was in the Navy and stationed in Japan.

MoMA

MoMA

MoMA

MoMA

MoMA

MoMA

Radio City Music Hall

NYPD

Random photo.

New York Marathon goody bag.

2011 New York City Marathon Long Sleeve T-Shirt.

Back of t-shirt.

Pasta dinner, beginning to load up on the carbs.

Two great deals, New York CityPASS ($79) and the MetroCard (7-day, $29). The CityPASS allows you to see some of the best attractions the city has to offer for about half the price.

About runninginspired

I’m in my mid-40s and have been running for about 19 years. I have finished 24 marathons with a personal best time of 3:04. I currently reside in San Diego, CA. I enjoy running since it keeps you honest and will give back what you put into it. Work hard, but smart, and good results will eventually follow. I like to experiment with training plans, gadgets, shoes, and nutrition to find what works for me. The primary purpose of this blog is to document my training and thoughts about running in my ongoing quest to improve my fitness and health.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Marathons, Photography, Running, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

