Museums, Central Park and the Finish Line

I took it a little slower today, visiting a couple museums and walking the last mile of the New York City Marathon through Central Park.  The last mile is hilly, so I’ll need to try and mentally prepare for it.

This was my third full day and New York and I’m just overwhelmed with the city.  It is like walking through Disneyland, just so much stimuli going on around you and the city is so photogenic.  It’s no wonder artists flock here in droves to be inspired.  And everything is just so big.  Today I visited the The Metropolitan Museum of Art (The Met) and American Museum of Natural History.  There was just way too much to see.  You could easily spend a whole day or more in each museum and still not see everything.

This morning I ran about 3 miles at marathon pace to keep the legs limber.  Felt okay.  The weather for marathon day is shaping up to be ideal conditions (40 – 56 degrees and sunny) assuming the wind is tame.

Here are some photos from today.

Fred Lebow, the founder of the New York City Marathon. There is also a documentary about him called "Run for Your Life" that I highly recommend.

Started off with a hearty breakfast, compliments of the hotel.

First I took the subway to "The Met."

The Met, this building is huge!

Entrance area of The Met.

The Met

The Met

The Met

The Met

The Met

The Met

The Met

The Met

The Met

The Met, Andy Warhol self portrait.

Part of the last marathon mile in Central Park.

25 mile marker banner.

Central Park

Central Park

Central Park

Central Park

Central Park

Mile 26 banner, almost there.

The finish line - can't wait!

Grabbed lunch at Starbucks and ate it on a bench next to Central Park.

Roasted veggie panini, not bad.

Turkey sandwich.

Stopped by the Natural History Museum for about an hour. I was getting tired, so quickly walked through so I'm sure I missed a lot.

Natural History Museum

Natural History Museum

Pasta dinner, same as last night.

About runninginspired

I’m in my mid-40s and have been running for about 19 years. I have finished 24 marathons with a personal best time of 3:04. I currently reside in San Diego, CA. I enjoy running since it keeps you honest and will give back what you put into it. Work hard, but smart, and good results will eventually follow. I like to experiment with training plans, gadgets, shoes, and nutrition to find what works for me. The primary purpose of this blog is to document my training and thoughts about running in my ongoing quest to improve my fitness and health.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Marathons, Photography, Running, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Museums, Central Park and the Finish Line

  1. Good luck Sunday!!!My son Sam is a long distance runner, still in high school so generally runs 5Ks in x-c season and 1 mile in track season. He will run in his first half marathon when you are doing your big one on Sunday. Check out my blog entry http://acustomtripplanning.com/2011/10/04/how-to-fitting-in-a-personal-activity-on-a-vacation/
    to see him running on the track at Oxford!

Leave a Reply

