Marathon Training Meals (Week 1 of 13)

As I mentioned in a post last week, I was planning to clean up my diet this marathon training cycle.  To bring some discipline to the process, I am planning to photograph everything I eat each week and post it online.  I’m finding that photographing each meal and snack is a very effective way to consciously keep tabs on not only what I’m putting in my mouth, but assessing if this is something I really need to eat.  I caught myself on a few occasions picking up some snack item only to put it back down realizing that I wasn’t really hungry and was only going to eat it out of boredom or habit.  Also, knowing that I was going to post a photo on a public web site helped me avoid eating some junk food that I would normally not think twice about eating.

As I mentioned last week, my goal is not necessarily to lose weight, but to eat cleaner.  Last week I weighed 144.4 lbs (65.5 kg) and as of this morning, I weighed 141.5 lbs (64.2 kg), almost 3 lbs less.  I’m not sure if it is real weight loss or just a difference in hydration levels (i.e., water weight), but it is an interesting metric to monitor.

Overall, I think week 1 went well and I kept junk food to a minimum and avoided overeating.  Probably went over my 80% full doctrine on many occasions, but never exceeded 100%.  Below are pictures of what I ate all week.  As you’ll see, my food choices didn’t have a lot of variety, but I like to keep things simple.  Here’s a list of the core things I ate.

Rice, natto, vegetables (lots of carrots), bananas, mikans, pasta, noodles, whole wheat cereal, nuts, bread, fish, miso/veggie soup, eggs, chocolate, waffles, tofu, yogurt, tea, coffee and water.

About runninginspired

I’m in my mid-40s and have been running for about 19 years. I have finished 24 marathons with a personal best time of 3:04. I currently reside in San Diego, CA. I enjoy running since it keeps you honest and will give back what you put into it. Work hard, but smart, and good results will eventually follow. I like to experiment with training plans, gadgets, shoes, and nutrition to find what works for me. The primary purpose of this blog is to document my training and thoughts about running in my ongoing quest to improve my fitness and health.
This entry was posted in Nutrition, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Marathon Training Meals (Week 1 of 13)

  1. Good luck with the weight loss, sounds like you’re being smart about it. I’m envious of all the great seafood you must have in Japan 🙂

  2. Pingback: Tokyo Maraton Training Update (Week 1 of 13) | Running Inspired Blog

  3. Pingback: Top 10 Things that Helped Me Finally Qualify for the Boston Marathon | Running Inspired Blog

Leave a Reply

