Tokyo Marathon Training Update (Week 2 of 13)

This was the first week of training where I feel I’m getting back to my pre-NYC marathon fitness level.  After a couple weeks of feeling flat, my confidence has returned and think I’ll start seeing improvements from week to week.  The body is feeling fine and I am not experiencing any pains.

I ran on Tuesday (intervals), Thursday (tempo), and Saturday (long run).  I cycled on Monday (15 miles), Friday (13 miles), and Sunday (10 miles).  I did my kettlebell/yoga routine on Monday, Wednesday, Friday, and Sunday.  I’ve reduced the cycling this week after feeling fatigued during my runs last week, which seems to have helped.

I’ve ate well this week, but my sleep was just okay.  On a few nights this week, I woke up in the middle of the night and found it hard to get to sleep.  Probably just need to wind down a little earlier.

Overall, I was encouraged with my training this week.  This upcoming week will be an odd training week since I’ll be traveling for 4 days and don’t plan to do any running (just a lot of walking) while I’m away.  Hopefully, the rest will be good for me.

Detailed recap of my runs this week.

12/6, Tuesday (10 x 800 Intervals, Treadmill, 2% incline) – Finally felt like I had a decent workout after a few weeks of feeling really flat. Ran 10 x 800s with a light jog of 95 seconds between intervals. Ran the first nine 800s in 3 minutes (6 minute/mile pace), ran the last 800 in 2:58 (5:56/mile pace). Was hoping I’d be a little further along on the 800s by running them a little faster and at a higher incline on the treadmill, but I’ll take it at this point in my training and try to gradually improve each week. No need to rush the training and peak too soon.

12/8, Thursday (Tempo, 10 miles) – Felt good on this morning’s tempo run. Getting my pre-NYC marathon fitness back, but still not quite there yet – maybe need a couple weeks. Started the run at 7:45 pace then progressed downward to around 6:40, give or take. Averaged 6:50/mile pace for entire run.  Great running weather this morning, 48 degrees, 71% humidity, NNE 9 mph wind. No pains. Ran in Newtons. About 7.5 hours sleep last night.

12/10, Sunday (Long Run, 18 miles) – Felt really flat the first 10 miles, but then started to get into a nice rhythm and the leg turnover felt more relaxed the last 8 miles – was strongest the last 5K of the run. Perfect running weather today, sunny, 46 degrees, 40% humidity, E 5 mph wind. Averaged 7:30 pace for entire run.  No pains. Got about 7.5 hours sleep. Ran in Newtons.

Total Running Miles – 37 miles (week’s goal – 36 miles)

Total Cycling Miles – 38 miles (week’s goal – 50 ~ 75 miles)

Strength/Yoga – 3.5 hours (week’s goal 3 hours)


About runninginspired

I’m in my mid-40s and have been running for about 19 years. I have finished 24 marathons with a personal best time of 3:04. I currently reside in San Diego, CA. I enjoy running since it keeps you honest and will give back what you put into it. Work hard, but smart, and good results will eventually follow. I like to experiment with training plans, gadgets, shoes, and nutrition to find what works for me. The primary purpose of this blog is to document my training and thoughts about running in my ongoing quest to improve my fitness and health.
This entry was posted in Marathons, Running, Training and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Tokyo Marathon Training Update (Week 2 of 13)

  1. hayyau says:

    Hi,

    Good stuff, Tokyo has had some great weather in the past week for running!

    I have a similar workout to yours as I mentioned previously since I’m basing it on the FIRST program too, but my IT band has getting quite uncomfortable even with a lot of Icing and rest.
    It means the past 3 weeks I’ve been restricted to 1 long run and 1 tempo run a week and more swimming/cycling.

    Looking forward to your Korea update, keep up the good running!
    Hay

    • Thanks, Hay, feel like I’m getting to the place I want to be in my training. Weather has been really nice for running these past few weeks, which always helps with the motivation.

      Sorry to hear about your IT band, I know it is a frustrating injury and hard to train with. Hopefully, the cross-training will make up for it.

      RI

  2. Pingback: Tokyo Marathon Training Update (Week 3 of 13) | Running Inspired Blog

  3. Pingback: Tokyo Marathon Training Update (Week 4 of 13) | Running Inspired Blog

  4. Pingback: Tokyo Marathon Training Update (Week 5 of 13) | Running Inspired Blog

  5. Pingback: Tokyo Marathon Training Update (Week 6 of 13) | Running Inspired Blog

  6. Pingback: Tokyo Marathon Training Update (Week 7 of 13) | Running Inspired Blog

  7. Pingback: Tokyo Marathon Training Update (Week 8 of 13) | Running Inspired Blog

  8. Pingback: Tokyo Marathon Training Update (Week 9 of 13) | Running Inspired Blog

  9. Pingback: Tokyo Marathon Training Update (Week 10 of 13) | Running Inspired Blog

  10. Pingback: Tokyo Marathon Training Update (Week 11 of 13) | Running Inspired Blog

  11. Pingback: Tokyo Marathon Training Update (Week 12 of 13) | Running Inspired Blog

  12. Pingback: Tokyo Marathon Training Update (Week 13 of 13) | Running Inspired Blog

  13. Pingback: Top 10 Things that Helped Me Finally Qualify for the Boston Marathon | Running Inspired Blog

Leave a Reply

