Tokyo Marathon Training Update (Week 4 of 13)

This was an okay week of training – a 6 on a 10 point scale.  After last week’s vacation, I was able to get back into a routine and got in all my planned training sessions.  Overall, the body continues to feel good and I am not experiencing any pains.  But one thing I’ve been noticing, my legs have been flat the last couple weeks when its time for my long runs and I’m not hitting my planned paces.  I think my body is telling me that I may be overdoing it a bit, so I plan to modify my training slightly this upcoming week to provide a full day of rest before the long run.

I ran on Tuesday (intervals), Thursday (tempo), Saturday (easy), and Sunday (long run).  I did a 60 minute kettlebell/yoga session on Monday, Wednesday, and Saturday.  As cross-training, I got on the spin bike at the gym for about 45 minutes on Monday and Friday.

My diet was pretty clean this week and I got a decent rest, averaging about 7.5 – 8 hours of sleep a night (plus a mid-day catnap of about 30 minutes).

Overall, I feel I’m still on track with my training progress, although I’m falling short pace-wise on my long runs, so I’ll be looking to improve in this area in the upcoming weeks.  This upcoming week I plan to substitute the spin bike at the gym instead of cycling outside.  I found the spin bike gave me a pretty decent workout and I was able to burn about 500 calories in 45 minutes at a moderate effort.  I did experiment with running 4 times this past week, but think it may have sub-optimized the quality of my long run, so I’m going back to running only 3 times a week.

Detailed recap of my runs this week.

12/20, Tuesday (10 x 800s Intervals, Treadmill, 2% incline) – Good workout this morning. Ran the first seven 800s in 2:58 (5:56/mile pace), 8th 800 in 2:56 (5:52/mile pace), 9th 800 in 2:54 (5:49/mile pace), and last 800 in 2:51 (5:42/mile pace). Took a 95 second rest jog between intervals.

12/22, Thursday (Tempo, 11 miles) – Good run on this cold and crisp morning. 41 degrees, 61% humidity, N 6mph wind. No pains. 8 hours sleep. Ran in Newtons.

12/24, Saturday (Easy, 5 miles, Treadmill, 2% incline) – Leisurely run on treadmill.

12/25, Sunday (Long Run, 19 miles) – Felt flat again for my long run again this week. Yesterday I did a easy run, but probably need a full rest day before my long runs to run at my target paces. Good running weather, mid-40s, 37% humidity, SE 7 mph wind. Yesterday didn’t feel so good, had muscle aches and chills, but seemed to be okay today. Got about 8 hours sleep. Ran in Newtons. No pains.

Total Running Miles – 42 miles (week’s goal – 36 miles)

Total Cycling Miles – Two 45 minute sessions on spin bike Monday and Friday

Strength/Yoga – 3 hours (week’s goal 3 hours)

Week 1 – Training Recap

Week 2 – Training Recap

Week 3 – Training Recap

About runninginspired

I’m in my mid-40s and have been running for about 19 years. I have finished 24 marathons with a personal best time of 3:04. I currently reside in San Diego, CA. I enjoy running since it keeps you honest and will give back what you put into it. Work hard, but smart, and good results will eventually follow. I like to experiment with training plans, gadgets, shoes, and nutrition to find what works for me. The primary purpose of this blog is to document my training and thoughts about running in my ongoing quest to improve my fitness and health.
This entry was posted in Marathons, Running, Training and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Tokyo Marathon Training Update (Week 4 of 13)

  1. Pingback: Tokyo Marathon Training Update (Week 5 of 13) | Running Inspired Blog

  2. Pingback: Tokyo Marathon Training Update (Week 6 of 13) | Running Inspired Blog

  3. Pingback: Tokyo Marathon Training Update (Week 7 of 13) | Running Inspired Blog

  4. Pingback: Tokyo Marathon Training Update (Week 8 of 13) | Running Inspired Blog

  5. Pingback: Tokyo Marathon Training Update (Week 9 of 13) | Running Inspired Blog

  6. Pingback: Tokyo Marathon Training Update (Week 10 of 13) | Running Inspired Blog

  7. Pingback: Tokyo Marathon Training Update (Week 11 of 13) | Running Inspired Blog

  8. Pingback: Tokyo Marathon Training Update (Week 12 of 13) | Running Inspired Blog

  9. Pingback: Tokyo Marathon Training Update (Week 13 of 13) | Running Inspired Blog

  10. Pingback: Top 10 Things that Helped Me Finally Qualify for the Boston Marathon | Running Inspired Blog

Leave a Reply

