Marathon Training Meals (Week 5 of 13)

After 5 weeks, I think I’ve developed some clean diet habits that is sufficient for giving me the energy to complete my endurance workouts and provide the necessary nutrients for a quick recovery.  I found the key is to not deny yourself, but like most good advice, keep things in moderation and be conscious of your food intake with your energy expenditures.  This doesn’t mean tracking calories, but having the natural sense to know how much you should eat that day.  When I have a hard workout day I can indulge a little more and if I have a light workout or rest day I will reduce my food intake a bit.  But from day to day, I try not to have wild fluctuations in how much I eat.  When snacking, if it is fruits or vegetables, I usually don’t have a second thought about eating it.  But when it comes to other things like chocolate, crackers, nuts, ice cream, I’ll eat this stuff in moderation, but won’t deny myself these pleasures in life.  However, I try to stay away from sugary soft drinks, unless it is a sports drink during my long run since those add a lot of stealth and empty calories.  These habits and mindset seems to be working for me.

This was another week of lots of fruits and vegetables, healthy doses of carbohydrates to fuel my endurance training, moderate amount of meat (mostly fish) and minimal junk food.  I did eat out at a Korean restaurant on Christmas day and ate more than I should have, but that was really the only time overly indulged this week.  I’m thinking I may begin adding a little more meat (fish and chicken) to my diet since all the carbohydrates I’m ingesting are making me gaseous.

My weight continues to stay in the 140 – 145 lb range, but I do feel a little lighter during my runs.  So although I’m not really losing any significant weight, I am getting leaner with slightly more muscle mass making up the fat loss.

Start – 144.4 lbs (65.5 kg)

Week 1  – 141.5 lbs (64.2 kg)

Week 2 – 143.5 lbs (65.1 kg)

Week 3 – 143.1 lbs (64.9 kg)

Week 4 – 143.7 (65.2 kg)

Week 5 – 142.4 (64.6 kg)

Here’s a list of the core things I ate:  Rice, natto, vegetables, bananas, apples, oranges, pineapple, sushi, noodles, whole wheat cereal, almonds, eggs, chocolate, tofu, breads, protein smoothies, yogurt, tea, sweat potato, Korean food, chicken, pasta, soup, soy milk, coffee and tap water.

Below are pictures of what I ate all week.

This entry was posted in Nutrition, Running and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Marathon Training Meals (Week 5 of 13)

  1. Pingback: Tokyo Marathon Training Update (Week 5 of 13) | Running Inspired Blog

  2. Pingback: Top 10 Things that Helped Me Finally Qualify for the Boston Marathon | Running Inspired Blog

Leave a Reply

