Marathon Training Meals (Week 6 of 13)

Well it has been about six weeks of working on developing clean diet habits.  Although far from perfect, I continue to learn a little more every week.  This past week I added a little more meat and cheese to my diet and the extra protein may be helping with a quicker recovery between workouts.  Carbohydrates still make up the vast majority of my diet, but I continue to seek more variety to add more balance and enjoyment to the eating experience.

In addition to adding some cheese, ham, and red meat, this was another week full of fruits and vegetables, healthy doses of carbohydrates to fuel my endurance training, and a moderate amount of meat.  The junk food was a little more than usual due to all the New Year food gifts, but not out of control.

My weight continues to fall slightly, but still comfortably within the 140 – 145 lb range.  During my runs this week, my legs were pretty springy, which may be attributed somewhat to the continuing reduction in weight due to less fat with the same muscle mass.  I seem to have a good feel of how much to take in against my energy expenditures without counting calories.

Start – 144.4 lbs (65.5 kg)

Week 1  – 141.5 lbs (64.2 kg)

Week 2 – 143.5 lbs (65.1 kg)

Week 3 – 143.1 lbs (64.9 kg)

Week 4 – 143.7 lbs (65.2 kg)

Week 5 – 142.4 lbs (64.6 kg)

Week 6 – 141.5 lbs (64.4 kg)

Here’s a list of the core things I ate:  Brown rice, natto, vegetables, bananas, apples, oranges, sushi, sukiyaki, ham and cheese sandwiches, almonds, rice crackers, miso soup, noodles, whole wheat cereal, almonds, chocolate, tofu, breads, protein smoothies, yogurt, tea, sweat potato, pasta, soup, soy milk, coffee and tap water.

Below are pictures of what I ate all week.

About runninginspired

I’m in my mid-40s and have been running for about 19 years. I have finished 24 marathons with a personal best time of 3:04. I currently reside in San Diego, CA. I enjoy running since it keeps you honest and will give back what you put into it. Work hard, but smart, and good results will eventually follow. I like to experiment with training plans, gadgets, shoes, and nutrition to find what works for me. The primary purpose of this blog is to document my training and thoughts about running in my ongoing quest to improve my fitness and health.
This entry was posted in Nutrition, Running and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Marathon Training Meals (Week 6 of 13)

  1. sweetopiagirl says:

    Reblogged this on Inspiredweightloss.

  2. Pingback: Tokyo Marathon Training Update (Week 6 of 13) | Running Inspired Blog

  3. Pingback: Top 10 Things that Helped Me Finally Qualify for the Boston Marathon | Running Inspired Blog

Leave a Reply

