Running for a Lifetime

Ed Whitlock, Photo by Andrew McClanahan, PhotoRun

One of the great things about the sport of running that most sports can’t claim is the ability to do it your entire life.  I’m amazed to see so many people out there on the marathon course in their 60s, 70s, 80s, and even 90s.  There is a gentleman named Fauja Singh who completed the Toronto Marathon this year at 100 years old.  Seeing senior citizen endurance athletes is a fairly common sight nowadays and many are still running very impressive times.  There’s a man named Ed Whitlock who ran a marathon in 3 hours and 15 minutes at 80 years old.  That is my PR time and I’m half the guy’s age!!

I just read an article from the Huffington Post on 7 Senior Fitness All-Stars.  These athletes are accomplishing some really amazing feats.  However, the longevity of what they are doing is well within the the abilities of any endurance athlete that has the persistence to keep at it.  I think the trend of older athletes continuing to challenge themselves well into there very late years is just the tip of the iceberg.  Just like many years ago when people thought breaking the four minute mile was impossible, but once it happened, it has been broken many times over since then.  This should give us all hope, inspiration, and most of all, no excuse to aspire to a lifetime of challenging our fitness capabilities.  What a great feeling it must be when someone who is in their 60s is passing up runners half their age.  We may slow down a bit as we age, but with age groups and age-graded calculations, we can still set goals to keep things interesting.  I hope to someday be one of those inspiring seniors.

About runninginspired

I’m in my mid-40s and have been running for about 19 years. I have finished 24 marathons with a personal best time of 3:04. I currently reside in San Diego, CA. I enjoy running since it keeps you honest and will give back what you put into it. Work hard, but smart, and good results will eventually follow. I like to experiment with training plans, gadgets, shoes, and nutrition to find what works for me. The primary purpose of this blog is to document my training and thoughts about running in my ongoing quest to improve my fitness and health.
This entry was posted in Goals, Running and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Running for a Lifetime

  1. fiberliza says:

    Hey, I am only in my fifties but still get a thrill finding out that I have beaten women younger than I, even if I am not speedy. The best is when I can beat some of the best local women runners, all of whom seem to be in my age group 😉

    • It is interesting to note that people in their 40s and 50s seem to be the fastest overall runners out there. You always seem to see a master runner cracking the top 3 overall finishers, which goes to show you age is a state of mind!

Leave a Reply

