Tokyo Marathon Training Update (Week 8 of 13)

This week was my highest mileage of running planned for this training cycle.  Had a good interval and tempo run early in the week, but my long run planned pace was a bit derailed by cold rainy weather.  Overall, it was a quality week of training and believe it brought me one more step toward my goal time for the Tokyo Marathon.  The body seems to be responding well to the stresses I’m placing upon it and I’m recovering in time for each hard workout.  I’m finding the spin bike that I use for cross-training has been a nice complement to my running.  In fact, the cross-training on the bike seems to assist with the recovery between runs.  I’ll need to write a future post on this.

For this upcoming week, I plan to reduce my long run to 20 miles and do the second half of the run at marathon pace.  I’ll ramp up my interval pace by a few seconds per 800.  I ran my tempo a bit hard this past week and will probably try to run just a hard this week.

Continue to be relatively pain free, although I’m beginning to massage the bottoms of my feet with a golf ball, which feels great.

I ran on Tuesday (intervals), Thursday (tempo), and Sunday (long run).  I did a 60 minute kettlebell/yoga session on Wednesday and Friday.  I also did a 20 minute stand alone yoga session on Sunday after my long run.  For cross-training, I used the spin bike at the gym for about 50 minutes at a moderate effort (i.e., burning about 500 calories @ ~100 RPMs) on Monday and Saturday.  I also did about 15 minutes of free weights (curls, presses, etc.) and body weight (pull-ups, dips, planks) strength training exercises on Monday.

The diet remains balanced although I did gain about 1 pound this week.  Rest has been okay, averaging about 7 – 8 hours of sleep a night (plus a mid-day catnap of about 30 minutes).  Been getting about 7 – 8 hours of sleep a night along with a 30 minute nap in the afternoons.  This seems to be adequate rest.

Detailed recap of my runs this week.

1/17, Tuesday (Yasso 800s, 10 x 800s Intervals, Treadmill, 2% incline, 8 miles) – Good interval session this morning. 10 x 800s. Intervals 1 ~ 8 in 2:54 (5:49/mile pace), #9 in 2:53 (5:46/mile pace), and last interval in 2:51 (5:42/mile pace). Since I was feeling good, I kept going for about another 600 meters after my last interval at a 5:30/mile pace. Got a solid 8 hours of sleep last night. No pains. Ran in Newtons.

1/19, Thursday (Tempo, 10 miles, average pace 6:39/mile) – Good tempo run today, felt pretty good throughout entire run. Great running weather, 43 degrees, 53% humidity, E 9 mph wind. Got about 7.5 hours sleep last night. No pains. Ran in Newtons.

1/22, Sunday (Long Run, 28 miles, average pace 8:06) – Long moderate pace run. Decided to go a longer than usual to try and increase endurance and glycogen stores. Miserable weather the first three hours, cold, rain, and wind, but the rain finally stopped for the final 45 minutes. Never felt strong during the run due to cold rainy weather, but wasn’t that fatigued at the end either. Overall, so-so run today. Temps in the mid-40s, 12 – 18 mph winds, and rain for about 3 hours. Ran in Newtons. Got about 8 hours sleep last night. No pains.

Total Running Miles – 47 miles (week’s goal – 44 miles)

Cross-Training – Two 50 minute sessions on spin bike Monday and Saturday

Strength/Yoga – 2.75 hours

Week 1 – Training Recap

Week 2 – Training Recap

Week 3 – Training Recap

Week 4 – Training Recap

Week 5 – Training Recap

Week 6 – Training Recap

Week 7 – Training Recap

This entry was posted in Marathons, Running, Training and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Tokyo Marathon Training Update (Week 8 of 13)

  1. Pingback: Tokyo Marathon Training Update (Week 9 of 13) | Running Inspired Blog

  2. Pingback: Tokyo Marathon Training Update (Week 10 of 13) | Running Inspired Blog

  3. Pingback: Tokyo Marathon Training Update (Week 11 of 13) | Running Inspired Blog

  4. Pingback: Tokyo Marathon Training Update (Week 12 of 13) | Running Inspired Blog

  5. Pingback: Tokyo Marathon Training Update (Week 13 of 13) | Running Inspired Blog

  6. Pingback: Top 10 Things that Helped Me Finally Qualify for the Boston Marathon | Running Inspired Blog

Leave a Reply

