This Week’s Running Articles Around the Web (1/30/12)

Here are some running articles I came across this week that I thought were interesting.

Running ‘can slow the aging process’ (BBC News) – This article is a few years old, but the Stanford study being cited is very compelling.

How to Refuel After a Hard Workout (Active.com) – There are a lot of theories out there on proper fueling after a hard workout, but this article does a good job on explaining the importance of ingesting more carbohydrates than proteins for the endurance athlete.

How Much Rest Should You Take Between Intervals (Running Times) – Really insightful article on how much rest you should take between your intervals.  I’ve always wondered about this and this article provides good guidance on when to take short or longer rest periods.

Treadmill Training With Dave Scott (Active.com) – I’m a big advocate of incorporating treadmill running into your training and six-time Ironman World Champion Dave Scott seems to agree.

The 10 Biggest Sport Nutrition Myths (Competitor.com) – Lots of good tidbits on the myths of nutrition.  Especially like the last one regarding supplements.

Marathon Runner Travels on a Path With God (Miami Herald) – I’m a big fan of Ryan Hall and he’s very open with his faith.  Great role model.

The Case for Cross Training (Competitor.com) – I’m becoming more of a believer on the benefits of cross-training.  There are still some hardcore runners out there that only run and struggle with injuries.  If you are one of them, you should seriously consider reducing the mileage and make it up with aerobic cross-training.

Immune to It All (Runner’s World) – I’m often susceptible to getting colds close to races.  Some good tips on how to try and prevent getting sick during your hard training.

About runninginspired

I’m in my mid-40s and have been running for about 19 years. I have finished 24 marathons with a personal best time of 3:04. I currently reside in San Diego, CA. I enjoy running since it keeps you honest and will give back what you put into it. Work hard, but smart, and good results will eventually follow. I like to experiment with training plans, gadgets, shoes, and nutrition to find what works for me. The primary purpose of this blog is to document my training and thoughts about running in my ongoing quest to improve my fitness and health.
This entry was posted in Articles, Nutrition, Running, Training and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

