Marathon Training Diet (Week 10 of 13)

Kept the diet pretty clean this week, minimized the junk food after going a little overboard last week.  Other than pigging out at a friend’s gathering last Saturday night (sometimes you just need to indulge), I ate lots of fruits, vegetables, whole grains, lean meats and tofu for most of the week.  Recovery between workouts this week has been good, so my diet appears to be adequate and balanced.

My weight is down almost a pound from last week and now I’m on the lower end of my target range of 140 ~ 145 lbs.  I feel I’m at a good weight 3 weeks out from the marathon, so I probably don’t want to lose any more than one more pound.  However, because I’ll be starting my taper phase next week, I’ll need to be more disciplined with my diet the next few weeks because I simply won’t be burning as many calories.  If I can maintain my current weight, it will be the lightest I’ve ever been going into a marathon.

Here is my weight for the past 10 weeks.  Each weight measurement is taken first thing on Saturday morning.

Start – 144.4 lbs (65.5 kg)

Week 1  – 141.5 lbs (64.2 kg) – NOTE:  Think I was dehydrated during this weigh-in.

Week 2 – 143.5 lbs (65.1 kg)

Week 3 – 143.1 lbs (64.9 kg)

Week 4 – 143.7 lbs (65.2 kg)

Week 5 – 142.4 lbs (64.6 kg)

Week 6 – 142.0 lbs (64.4 kg)

Week 7 – 141.8 lbs (64.3 kg)

Week 8 – 142.9 lbs (64.8 kg)

Week 9 – 142.6 lbs (64.7 kg)

Week 10 – 141.8 lbs (64.3 kg)

List of things I ate:  Rice, natto, vegetables, bananas, pineapple, sushi, bibimbap, mochi, sweet beans, mango, hummus, chicken and cheese sandwiches, crackers, popcorn, waffles, jam, chicken, raisins, fish cakes, whole wheat cereal, chocolate, tofu, breads, protein smoothies, yogurt, eggs, noodles, sweat potato, potato salad, soy milk, coffee and tap water.

Pictures of what I ate this week (missing a couple meals).

This entry was posted in Nutrition, Running and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Marathon Training Diet (Week 10 of 13)

  1. Pingback: Tokyo Marathon Training Update (Week 10 of 13) | Running Inspired Blog

  2. Pingback: Top 10 Things that Helped Me Finally Qualify for the Boston Marathon | Running Inspired Blog

Leave a Reply

