Tokyo Marathon Training Update (Week 10 of 13)

On a scale of 1 to 10, I would rate this week a 9.  Had a good interval run (Yasso 800s) on Tuesday, a decent marathon pace tempo run on Thursday, and personal best half marathon race on Sunday (will post a race report soon).  The hard build up is now done!!  Now I begin my taper to get the body fully rested and recovered for the Tokyo Marathon in 20 days.  Overall, this has been one of my better build up periods and I didn’t miss a single planned workout.  The cross-training was something new this training cycle, which I think has been a wonderful supplement to my running.  I struggled a bit the first couple of weeks of this training cycle because of doing too much cross-training, but once I found the right balance, my progress began to gradually improve each week.  By only running three times a week and cross-training the other days either cycling or strength training, it allowed enough recovery to adequately perform the next hard running workout.  I feel I rode the fine line of training hard enough every week to move the needle, but avoided the over training zone.

For the upcoming taper period, I will reduce my mileage about 25% each week, although the intensity of each run will still be about the same.  Although I’m happy to be going into the taper period after logging over 200 miles of running in January, it does take some discipline to not try and push yourself – just need to keep in mind that it is a time for rest and recovery.  As I get older and more experienced, I’m beginning to fully appreciate the equal importance of recovery.  In addition to the reduced mileage, I’ll do more stretching/yoga.  I’ve also scheduled the next two Sundays for a sport massage.

Overall, the body still seems to be holding up pretty well.  No significant pains to report, but I am experiencing a dull pain below my right toe – not sure if it is a joint or ligament.  Nothing that prevents me from running, but has been lingering for a couple weeks.  Hopefully, the taper period will help.

I seem to be doing well as far as my diet.  I lost almost a pound this past week and my weight is currently 141.8 lbs.  This seems to be a good running weight for me, so I don’t plan on going much lower.  The diet will be more challenging during the taper period simply because I won’t be burning as many calories, so I’ll really need to watch my intake more than usual.  Rest has been good, usually a solid 7 – 8 hours of sleep a night (plus a mid-day catnap of about 30 minutes), although I’ve been waking up a couple times a night and it takes a while to get back to sleep.

For this upcoming week, I will run 800 intervals (8 x 800s @ 5:42pace, 90 second rest between intervals) on Tuesday, an 8 mile tempo (sub-7 minute pace) on Thursday, and a long run of 15 miles on Sunday around marathon pace.  I’ll continue my normal cross-training routine of riding the spin bike, yoga, and kettlebell.

Detailed recap of my workouts this week.

1/30, Monday – Spin Bike (60 minutes, 100 RPMs, 600 calories burned)

1/31, Tuesday (Yasso 800s, 10 x 800s Intervals, Treadmill, 2% incline, 8 miles) – Did Yasso 800s on the treadmill this morning, 10 x 800s, 2% incline, 90 seconds jog between intervals. Overall, felt pretty good and the intervals were easier as the workout progressed. Ran the first 5 x 800s @ 2:53 (5:46/mile pace), next 4 x 800s @ 2:51 (5:42/mile pace) and last 800 in 2:48 (5:36/mile pace). Actually ran a 1200m @ 5:36/mile pace for my last 800 since I was feeling pretty good and just kept on going. Got about 8 hours sleep. No significant pains, although at the start there was a mild pain in my right heel up the back of my leg. Went away after a few minutes. Ran in Newtons.

2/1, Wednesday – Kettlebell Strength Training and Yoga (60 minutes)

2/2, Thursday (Tempo, 11 miles, average pace 7:17/mile) – Marathon pace tempo this morning. Cold and a little windy, mid-30s with 14 mph N wind. Right toe had dull pain in the joint. Slept about 7 hours last night. Ran in Newtons.

2/3, Friday – Spin Bike (60 minutes, 100 RPMs, 600 calories burned)

2/4, Saturday – Kettlebell Strength Training and Yoga (60 minutes)

2/5, Sunday (Kanagawa Half Marathon, 1:25:13, 13.1 miles, average pace 6:28) – First off, great weather! Mid-40s, cloud cover, comfortable breeze (8 mph winds), doesn’t get much better than this. Ran a PB, which I’m happy with, and didn’t really feel I pushed myself too hard. Ran a negative split, which is always good. Got a good night sleep, over 8 hours, and had a full breakfast since the race started at 11:30 am. Ran in Newton Gravity shoes. The course was narrow and crowded, seems like this is normal for most Japanese races, but can be very frustrating at times, especially if you are there racing against the clock. But overall, satisfied with the effort and final results. Took in no fluids or gels during entire run, but had one gel about 2 hours before the race. Funny thing about today is that my left calf began cramping pretty bad a couple hours before the race as I was walking down to the train station. I’ve had these types of cramps before when I haven’t run for a few days, but this was a bit odd since I ran just a couple days ago. Luckily it didn’t appear to impact my running performance, but it still feels tight and almost like it is bruised. Also, bottom of right toe joint/ligament (not quite sure) has a dull pain, but not bad.

2/5, Sunday – Yoga (20 minutes)

Total Running Miles – 33 miles (week’s goal – 31 miles)

Cross-Training – Two 60 minute sessions on spin bike Monday and Friday

Kettlebell Strength/Yoga – 2.5 hours

Week 1 – Training Recap

Week 2 – Training Recap

Week 3 – Training Recap

Week 4 – Training Recap

Week 5 – Training Recap

Week 6 – Training Recap

Week 7 – Training Recap

Week 8 – Training Recap

Week 9 – Training Recap

About runninginspired

I’m in my mid-40s and have been running for about 19 years. I have finished 24 marathons with a personal best time of 3:04. I currently reside in San Diego, CA. I enjoy running since it keeps you honest and will give back what you put into it. Work hard, but smart, and good results will eventually follow. I like to experiment with training plans, gadgets, shoes, and nutrition to find what works for me. The primary purpose of this blog is to document my training and thoughts about running in my ongoing quest to improve my fitness and health.
This entry was posted in Marathons, Running, Training and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Tokyo Marathon Training Update (Week 10 of 13)

  1. Pingback: Tokyo Marathon Training Update (Week 11 of 13) | Running Inspired Blog

  2. Pingback: Tokyo Marathon Training Update (Week 12 of 13) | Running Inspired Blog

  3. Pingback: Tokyo Marathon Training Update (Week 13 of 13) | Running Inspired Blog

  4. Pingback: Top 10 Things that Helped Me Finally Qualify for the Boston Marathon | Running Inspired Blog

Leave a Reply

