Marathon Training Diet (Week 11 of 13)

Other than indulging during the Super Bowl, I kept the diet pretty clean this week.  Lots of fruits, vegetables, whole grains, lean meats and tofu.  Recovery has been good and the diet was balanced.

My weight was up about a pound from last week (141.8 to 142.9 lbs), but still well within my target range of 140 ~ 145 lbs.  The added weight may be due to tapering, I’m simply not burning as many calories and but my caloric intake hasn’t been reduce enough to compensate for the difference.  May incorporate more long walks during the next two weeks to try and keep it more balanced.

Overall, I’m happy with where I am regarding my diet two weeks out from the marathon and don’t plan to change anything.

Here is my weight for the past 11 weeks.  Each weight measurement is taken first thing on Saturday morning.

Start – 144.4 lbs (65.5 kg)

Week 1  – 141.5 lbs (64.2 kg) – NOTE:  Think I was dehydrated during this weigh-in.

Week 2 – 143.5 lbs (65.1 kg)

Week 3 – 143.1 lbs (64.9 kg)

Week 4 – 143.7 lbs (65.2 kg)

Week 5 – 142.4 lbs (64.6 kg)

Week 6 – 142.0 lbs (64.4 kg)

Week 7 – 141.8 lbs (64.3 kg)

Week 8 – 142.9 lbs (64.8 kg)

Week 9 – 142.6 lbs (64.7 kg)

Week 10 – 141.8 lbs (64.3 kg)

Week 11 – 142.9 lbs (64.8 kg)

List of things I ate:  Rice, natto, vegetables, bananas, bibimbap, mochi, sweet beans, mango, oranges, ham and cheese sandwiches, almonds, waffles, jam, raisins, fish cakes, whole wheat cereal, dark chocolate, tofu, breads, protein smoothies, Greek yogurt, eggs, sweat potato, soy milk, coffee and tap water.

Pictures of what I ate this week.

About runninginspired

I’m in my mid-40s and have been running for about 19 years. I have finished 24 marathons with a personal best time of 3:04. I currently reside in San Diego, CA. I enjoy running since it keeps you honest and will give back what you put into it. Work hard, but smart, and good results will eventually follow. I like to experiment with training plans, gadgets, shoes, and nutrition to find what works for me. The primary purpose of this blog is to document my training and thoughts about running in my ongoing quest to improve my fitness and health.
This entry was posted in Nutrition, Running and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Marathon Training Diet (Week 11 of 13)

  1. Pingback: Tokyo Marathon Training Update (Week 11 of 13) | Running Inspired Blog

  2. Pingback: Top 10 Things that Helped Me Finally Qualify for the Boston Marathon | Running Inspired Blog

Leave a Reply

