Tokyo Marathon Training Update (Week 11 of 13)

Only 2 more weeks before the Tokyo Marathon!  Starting to get excited.  This was the first taper week, where I reduced mileage about 25%.  Still kept up the intensity of each run, but just ran fewer miles.  I’ll reduce mileage another 25% this week, but again the intensity of each run will remain the same.

On a scale of 1 to 10, I would rate this week a 9.  Had a good interval run (8 x 800s) on Tuesday, a solid tempo run on Friday, and a effortless marathon pace long run on Sunday.  The key over the next two weeks is to really rest the body, which is difficult after being training relatively hard over the past three months – but I know it is important to do.  I’ll probably continue the cross-training this week with the spin bike and strength training, but will eliminate it altogether the last week.

Overall, I’m feeling pretty good physically and no significant pains to speak of.  Today’s 16 mile long run at marathon pace was almost too easy.  I’ve got a sports massage scheduled today as well as next Sunday, which I’m looking forward to.

My diet has been balanced and I’m staying within a comfortable weight race range.  I did gain a pound this past week, but I’m not overly alarmed, just need to try and take longer leisurely walks and bike rides to compensate for the calories I’m not burning due to reduced running.  Been getting adequate rest, normally 7 – 8 hours of sleep a night this week (plus a mid-day catnap of about 30 minutes).

For this upcoming week, I will run 800 intervals (6 x 800s @ 5:42pace, 90 second rest between intervals) on Tuesday, an 6 mile tempo (sub-7 minute pace) on Thursday, and a long run of 10 miles on Sunday around marathon pace.  I’ll do my normal cross-training routine of riding the spin bike, yoga, and kettlebell on the other days.

Detailed recap of my workouts this week.

2/6, Monday – Spin Bike (50 minutes, 100 RPMs, 500 calories burned)

2/7, Tuesday (8 x 800s Intervals, Treadmill, 2% incline, 7 miles) – Ran 8 x 800s on the treadmill @ 2:51 per 800 (5:42/mile pace). 90 second rest between intervals. It was a bit of an effort after having run a half marathon on Sunday. No significant pains, seems like bottom of right toe is getting better. Ran in my new Newton Distance shoes and they are noticably lighter. Really felt comfortable running in them today. Got about 8 hours sleep last night.

2/8, Wednesday – Kettlebell Strength Training and Yoga (60 minutes)

2/9, Thursday – Spin Bike (50 minutes, 100 RPMs, 500 calories burned)

2/10, Friday (Tempo, 8 miles, average pace 6:45/mile) – Good tempo run today. Weather not bad, 37 degrees, 57% humidity, NNE 7 mph wind. Mild pain in right toe. Got about 7.5 hours sleep. Ran in Newtons Distance.

2/11, Saturday – Kettlebell Strength Training and Yoga (60 minutes)

2/12, Sunday (Long Run, 16 miles, average pace 7:10) – Great run today, ran at marathon pace. Excellent weather, mid-40s, sunny, N 18 mph wind. No fluids during run and only 1 gel prior to the run. Also, did not make any rest room stops. 8 hours sleep last night. Ran in Newton Distance. No pains.

Total Running Miles – 31 miles (week’s goal – 30 miles)

Cross-Training – Two 50 minute sessions on spin bike Monday and Friday

Kettlebell Strength/Yoga – 2 hours

Week 1 – Training Recap

Week 2 – Training Recap

Week 3 – Training Recap

Week 4 – Training Recap

Week 5 – Training Recap

Week 6 – Training Recap

Week 7 – Training Recap

Week 8 – Training Recap

Week 9 – Training Recap

Week 10 – Training Recap

About runninginspired

I’m in my mid-40s and have been running for about 19 years. I have finished 24 marathons with a personal best time of 3:04. I currently reside in San Diego, CA. I enjoy running since it keeps you honest and will give back what you put into it. Work hard, but smart, and good results will eventually follow. I like to experiment with training plans, gadgets, shoes, and nutrition to find what works for me. The primary purpose of this blog is to document my training and thoughts about running in my ongoing quest to improve my fitness and health.
This entry was posted in Marathons, Running, Training and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Tokyo Marathon Training Update (Week 11 of 13)

  1. motivblogger says:

    Thanks a lot for sharing!
    With 2’51 / 800m, does it mean that you target a sub2H55 in Tokyo?

    • My target for Tokyo is 3:10 ~ 3:15. There is some training theories out there that you should run your 800s around your target marathon time – i.e., a 800 ran in 3 minutes would equal a 3 hour marathon target, but I personally haven’t found that correlation to be that accurate. I think if I was planning to run a sub 3 hour marathon, I would need to get my 800s down to around 2:40.

      Thanks for the comment.

  2. motivblogger says:

    Oups, I just notice this was on treadmill. I guess references are different then

  3. motivblogger says:

    I see. Maybe the difference comes from the treadmill. I’m not used to running on treadmill but I’ve read that speed is faster there…
    Anyway, enjoy your taper!

  4. Pingback: Tokyo Marathon Training Update (Week 12 of 13) | Running Inspired Blog

  5. Pingback: Tokyo Marathon Training Update (Week 13 of 13) | Running Inspired Blog

  6. Pingback: Top 10 Things that Helped Me Finally Qualify for the Boston Marathon | Running Inspired Blog

Leave a Reply

