Tokyo Marathon Training Update (Week 12 of 13)

This time next week, I will have have finished the Tokyo Marathon!  I just finished my second week of a three week taper period, where I reduced mileage about 50% of my peak training. I still retained the intensity of each run, but just ran fewer miles.  I’ll further reduce my running another 25% this final week just to keep the legs limber, but rested.

On a scale of 1 to 10, I would rate this week a 7.  Had a decent interval run (6 x 800s) on Tuesday, a somewhat flat 6 mile tempo run on Thursday, and a okay 10 mile marathon pace long run on Sunday.  Having flat runs during the taper period is not unusual since your body is repairing itself from the stresses of the high intensity training over the past few months.  I used to worry about feeling flat during the taper period, but now I know my body pretty well and come to expect it.

Overall, I’m feeling pretty good physically and no significant pains to speak of.  I still have a dull pain under my right toe, but nothing that is going to hold back my performance, although it seems to be improving a bit.  I had a sports massage last Sunday, which felt great, and I have another one scheduled today, which will be the last one before the marathon.  I’ll probably utilize the foam roller and massage stick during the rest of the week.

My diet is balanced and I’m within a comfortable weight race range (140 ~ 145 lbs).  My weight basically remained unchanged from last week at 142.9 lbs, although I do expect to gain a pound or two during the last week as I carbo-load and hydrate fully – want to ensure I top off the glycogen stores.  Regardless, I’m going into this race at a good weight, probably the lowest I’ve ever been entering a marathon.  Been getting adequate rest, normally 7 – 8 hours of sleep a night this past week (plus a mid-day catnap of about 30 minutes).  However, I plan to step it up a bit and try and get 8 – 9 hours of sleep a night this week.

As for running this upcoming week, I will do 400 intervals (6 x 400s @ 5:36pace, 400m rest between intervals) on Tuesday and a 3 mile marathon pace run on Thursday.  That will be it for running until next Sunday’s marathon.  Cross-training will be minimal and no strength training.  I’ll do a 60-minute easy effort on the spin bike on Monday and 30 minute sessions of yoga on Wednesday, Friday, and Saturday.

Detailed recap of my workouts this week.

2/13, Monday – Spin Bike (50 minutes, 100 RPMs, 500 calories burned)

2/14, Tuesday (6 x 800s Intervals, Treadmill, 2% incline, 6 miles) – Decent interval session. 6 x 800s @ 2:51 per interval (90 sec rest between intervals). Got about 7.5 hours sleep last night. Minor pain on bottom of right toe, but nothing significant. Ran in Newton Distance.

2/15, Wednesday – Kettlebell Strength Training and Yoga (60 minutes)

2/16, Thursday (Tempo, 6.2 miles, average pace 7:04/mile) – Tempo run, felt a bit heavy. Cold and windy, 39 degrees, 49% humidity, N 22 mph wind. Dull pain under right toe. Got 7.5 hours sleep. Ran in Newton Distance.

2/17, Friday – Spin Bike (50 minutes, 100 RPMs, 500 calories burned)

2/18, Saturday – Kettlebell Strength Training and Yoga (60 minutes)

2/19, Sunday (Long Run, 10.6 miles, average pace 7:12) – Little flat today, but to be expected during the taper period as the body is in repair mode. Ran at marathon pace. Nice day for a run (mid to high 30s, 31% humidity, N 12 mph wind), but bit windy. Only one week until the Tokyo Marathon! Still have the dull pain below right toe, but nothing serious. Ran in Newton Distance. Got 8 hours sleep last night.

Total Running Miles – 23 miles (week’s goal – 22 miles)

Cross-Training – Two 50 minute sessions on spin bike Monday and Friday

Kettlebell Strength/Yoga – 2 hours


Week 1 – Training Recap

Week 2 – Training Recap

Week 3 – Training Recap

Week 4 – Training Recap

Week 5 – Training Recap

Week 6 – Training Recap

Week 7 – Training Recap

Week 8 – Training Recap

Week 9 – Training Recap

Week 10 – Training Recap

Week 11 – Training Recap

About runninginspired

I’m in my mid-40s and have been running for about 19 years. I have finished 24 marathons with a personal best time of 3:04. I currently reside in San Diego, CA. I enjoy running since it keeps you honest and will give back what you put into it. Work hard, but smart, and good results will eventually follow. I like to experiment with training plans, gadgets, shoes, and nutrition to find what works for me. The primary purpose of this blog is to document my training and thoughts about running in my ongoing quest to improve my fitness and health.
This entry was posted in Marathons, Running, Training and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Tokyo Marathon Training Update (Week 12 of 13)

  1. motivblogger says:

    Best wishes for next week!

  2. Pingback: Tokyo Marathon Training Update (Week 13 of 13) | Running Inspired Blog

  3. Pingback: Top 10 Things that Helped Me Finally Qualify for the Boston Marathon | Running Inspired Blog

Leave a Reply

