Nagano Marathon Training Update (Week 2 of 7)

It’s been two weeks since the Tokyo Marathon and I would say I’m about 90% recovered.  Yesterday I had a nice long run where I was able to steadily increase the pace, giving me the confidence that I’ll be able to ratchet up the training intensity over the next couple of weeks before going into the taper phase.  Earlier this week, my interval and tempo runs were okay, but not easy, indicating I still probably wasn’t fully recovered from the marathon.

The diet this week was well balanced although I did gain some weight.  Because we had a lot of rain this week and my sleep schedule was disrupted due to work, I was unable to do some of the extra leisurely activities (walking and biking) I normally do to burn extra calories.  Also, research shows that sleep deprivation makes you gain weight and this was a week of a less than normal sleep routine.  My weight on Sunday morning was 145.3 lbs (65.9 kg), the heaviest I’ve been in about 3 months and just outside my target weight race range (140 ~ 145 lbs).  But with two weeks of intense training ahead of me and being a little more disciplined of what I eat, I’m confident that I’ll be comfortably back into my weight race range soon.

As for running this upcoming week, I will do 800 intervals on the treadmill (8 x 800s @ 5:42 pace, 90 second rest between intervals) on Tuesday, a 10 mile tempo run (sub 7-minutes) on Thursday, and 20 mile long run on Sunday.  I’ll also do two 60-minute sessions on the spin bike on Monday and Friday and strength training/yoga on Wednesday and Saturday.

Detailed recap of my workouts this week.

3/5, Monday – Spin Bike (60 minutes, 95 RPMs, 500 calories burned)

3/6, Tuesday (Intervals, 6 x 800s, Treadmill, 2% incline, 7 miles) – 6 x 800 on treadmill. Each 800 completed in 2:51 (5:42/mile pace) with 90 second rest between intervals.  I guess I’m not fully recovered, this was a bit of an effort that I barely finished all the intervals.  Got about 7 hours sleep last night.  Ran in Newton Distance.

3/7, Wednesday – Kettlebell Strength Training and Yoga (60 minutes)

3/8, Thursday (Tempo Run, Treadmill, 2% Incline, 8 miles, 7:14/mile pace) – Rain today, so did my tempo run on the treadmill.  Felt pretty good, able to progressively increase the pace until 6:30/mile.  Got about 7 hour sleep last night.  No pains, but leg muscles still a little tight.  Ran an Newton Distance.

3/9, Friday – Spin Bike (60 minutes, 95 RPMs, 600 calories burned)

3/10, Sunday – Kettlebell Strength Training and Yoga (60 minutes)

3/11, Saturday – (Long Run, 21 miles, average pace 7:18) – Good run today, started a little slow but picked it up to faster than marathon pace for the second half.  Last 9K at sub-7 minute pace.  Weather was excellent, although a bit windy.  Mid-40s, cloudy at the start, sunny at the finish.  Got about 7 hours sleep last night, but slept good.  No pains.  Ran in Newton Distance.

Total Running Miles – 36 miles (week’s goal – 35 miles)

Cross-Training – Two 60 minute sessions on spin bike Monday and Friday

Kettlebell Strength/Yoga – 2 hours

Weight

Week 1 – 143.5 lbs (65.1 kg)

Week 2 – 145.3 lbs (65.9 kg)


Week 1 – Nagano Marathon Training Update

About runninginspired

I’m in my mid-40s and have been running for about 19 years. I have finished 24 marathons with a personal best time of 3:04. I currently reside in San Diego, CA. I enjoy running since it keeps you honest and will give back what you put into it. Work hard, but smart, and good results will eventually follow. I like to experiment with training plans, gadgets, shoes, and nutrition to find what works for me. The primary purpose of this blog is to document my training and thoughts about running in my ongoing quest to improve my fitness and health.
This entry was posted in Marathons, Running, Training and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Nagano Marathon Training Update (Week 2 of 7)

  1. Pingback: Nagano Marathon Training Update (Week 3 of 7) | Running Inspired Blog

  2. Pingback: Nagano Marathon Training Update (Week 4 of 7) | Running Inspired Blog

  3. Pingback: Nagano Marathon Training Update (Week 5 of 7) | Running Inspired Blog

  4. Pingback: Nagano Marathon Training Update (Week 6 of 7) | Running Inspired Blog

  5. Pingback: Nagano Marathon Training Update (Week 7 of 7) | Running Inspired Blog

Leave a Reply

