Nagano Marathon Training Update (Week 3 of 7)

This was a good week of training.  The lingering fatigue from the Tokyo Marathon has totally dissipated and feel I’m right where I want to be going into the Nagano Marathon four weeks from today.  I was able to comfortably step up the training intensity this week and hit all my planned paces.  I will ratchet up the training another notch next week then head into the taper phase for the final three weeks.

I’ve been eating a fairly balanced diet and didn’t over indulge during any meal this week.  As a result, with the increased training intensity, I saw a significant drop in my weight – from 145.3 lbs to 142.4 lbs – almost 3 lbs.  I was also able to do some extra leisurely activities (walking and biking) and slept a little better this week, which may have also helped.

As for running this upcoming week, I will do Yasso 800s on the treadmill (10 x 800s @ 5:42 pace, 90 second rest between intervals) on Tuesday, a 10 mile tempo run (sub 7-minutes) on Thursday, and marathon pace 20 mile long run on Sunday.  I’ll also do two 60-minute sessions on the spin bike on Monday and Friday and strength training/yoga on Wednesday and Saturday.

The weather is beginning to warm-up so I’m thinking of biking to work (15 miles one way) once or twice a week in lieu of the spin bike.  Most likely I’ll start doing this after the Nagano Marathon, but I’m itching to do some bike rides outside again, but will probably wait so I don’t sub-optimize my training efforts.  I’ve been toying with the idea of running an ultramarathon – maybe a 50 miler – and I think biking the longer distances back and forth to work will be a nice cross-training complement to developing an ultramarathon training base.

Detailed recap of my workouts this week.

3/12, Monday – Strength Training (weights) and Spin Bike (60 minutes, 95 RPMs, 600 calories burned)

3/13, Tuesday (Intervals, 8 x 800s, Treadmill, 2% incline, 7 miles) – Good interval session. 8 x 800s (2:51 per 800, 5:42/mile pace) w/90 sec slow jog between intervals. Felt better than last week. Got 8 hours sleep. No pains. Ran in Newton Distance.

3/14, Wednesday – Kettlebell Strength Training and Yoga (60 minutes)

3/15, Thursday (Tempo Run, 10 miles, 6:44/mile pace) – Good run today, excellent weather. 39 degrees, WSW 7 mph wind, 75% humidity, clear. Got about 7 hours sleep. No pains. Ran in Newton Distance.

3/16, Friday – Spin Bike (60 minutes, 95 RPMs, 600 calories burned)

3/17, Saturday – Kettlebell Strength Training and Yoga (60 minutes)

3/18, Sunday – (Long Run, 21 miles, average pace 7:17) – Good run today, progressively increased the pace. Overcast, high 40s, NNE 8 mph wind, 88% humidity. Got about 8 hours sleep last night. No pains. Ran in Newton Gravity.

Total Running Miles – 39 miles (week’s goal – 37 miles)

Cross-Training – Two 60 minute sessions on spin bike Monday and Friday

Kettlebell Strength/Yoga – 2.5 hours

Weight

Week 1 – 143.5 lbs (65.1 kg)

Week 2 – 145.3 lbs (65.9 kg)

Week 3 – 142.4 lbs (64.6 kg)


Week 1 – Nagano Marathon Training Update

Week 2 – Nagano Marathon Training Update

About runninginspired

I’m in my mid-40s and have been running for about 19 years. I have finished 24 marathons with a personal best time of 3:04. I currently reside in San Diego, CA. I enjoy running since it keeps you honest and will give back what you put into it. Work hard, but smart, and good results will eventually follow. I like to experiment with training plans, gadgets, shoes, and nutrition to find what works for me. The primary purpose of this blog is to document my training and thoughts about running in my ongoing quest to improve my fitness and health.
This entry was posted in Marathons, Running, Training and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Nagano Marathon Training Update (Week 3 of 7)

  1. Pingback: Nagano Marathon Training Update (Week 4 of 7) | Running Inspired Blog

  2. Pingback: Nagano Marathon Training Update (Week 5 of 7) | Running Inspired Blog

  3. Pingback: Nagano Marathon Training Update (Week 6 of 7) | Running Inspired Blog

  4. Pingback: Nagano Marathon Training Update (Week 7 of 7) | Running Inspired Blog

Leave a Reply

