Nagano Marathon Training Update (Week 7 of 7)

Completed the 7-week marathon training cycle following the Tokyo Marathon in one piece.  The final taper week kept me a bit on edge since I wasn’t really sure how the race was going to turn out.  I wasn’t as disciplined or focused during this training cycle as I was going into Tokyo and maybe thought in the back of my mind that something would go wrong.

I ran intervals (6 x 400s) on Tuesday and a marathon pace run on Thursday (5 miles) prior to the marathon on Sunday.  I got in an easy cycling session in on Monday and three short yoga sessions in on Wednesday, Friday and Saturday.  No strength training this week.

The body felt okay this week, although I didn’t feel at the top of my game.  I did sleep well, averaging a good 8 hours of sleep every night.  Although I had no significant pains or injuries, I’ve had a nagging dull pain on the inside of my right ankle for weeks.  It is not something that prevents me from running and I usually don’t even notice it after a couple miles into the run.  Not sure if it is the shoes or what may be causing it, but hopefully it goes away as I reduce the intensity of my training after the marathon.

There were no major changes in my diet this week, but because of the reduced activity, I gained another pound – from 145.1 lbs to 145.9 lbs.  This is a pound above my target racing weight and about 1.3 lbs above my Tokyo Marathon weight.

Overall, I felt this was a good training cycle and sound plan coming off a marathon only 7 weeks ago.  The primary goal was to maintain my Tokyo Marathon fitness going into Nagano and try to better my time a bit.  I achieved that goal for most part, although mentally it was difficult to stay motivated.  As much as I enjoyed this marathon season, I must say I’m looking forward to ratcheting down the training intensity over the next few months and just enjoy running for the love of running.  I haven’t decided on my Fall marathons yet, but will work on that over the next few weeks.

Detailed recap of my workouts this week.

4/9, Monday – Spin Bike (50 minutes, 90 RPMs, 400 calories burned)

4/10, Tuesday (Intervals, 6 x 400s, Treadmill, 2% incline, 5 miles) – Felt pretty good today, intervals came easy today. 6 x 400s @ 1:24 (5:36/mile pace), 400m rest jog between intervals. Got 7.5 hours sleep. Dull pain in inside right ankle, goes away once I get warmed up. Ran in Newton Distances.

4/11, Wednesday – Yoga (20 minutes)

4/12, Thursday (Marathon Pace Run, 5 miles, 7:35/mile pace) – Easy tempo run, ~3 miles at marathon pace. 52 degrees, 82% humidity, NW 5 mph wind. Felt okay. Dull pain on inside of right ankle. Ran in Newton Distances. Got 8 hours sleep last night.

4/13, Friday – Yoga (20 minutes)

4/14, Saturday – Yoga (20 minutes)

4/15, Sunday – Nagano Marathon (Race Report)

Total Running Miles – 37 miles (week’s goal – 39 miles)

Cross-Training – One 50 minute sessions on spin bike Monday

Yoga – 1 hour

Weight

Week 1 – 143.5 lbs (65.1 kg)

Week 2 – 145.3 lbs (65.9 kg)

Week 3 – 142.4 lbs (64.6 kg)

Week 4 – 144.4 lbs (65.5 kg)

Week 5 – 144.0 lbs (65.3 kg)

Week 6 – 145.1 lbs (65.8 kg)

Week 7 – 145.9 lbs (66.2 kg)


Week 1 – Nagano Marathon Training Update

Week 2 – Nagano Marathon Training Update

Week 3 – Nagano Marathon Training Update

Week 4 – Nagano Marathon Training Update

Week 5 – Nagano Marathon Training Update

Week 6 – Nagano Marathon Training Update

About runninginspired

I’m in my mid-40s and have been running for about 19 years. I have finished 24 marathons with a personal best time of 3:04. I currently reside in San Diego, CA. I enjoy running since it keeps you honest and will give back what you put into it. Work hard, but smart, and good results will eventually follow. I like to experiment with training plans, gadgets, shoes, and nutrition to find what works for me. The primary purpose of this blog is to document my training and thoughts about running in my ongoing quest to improve my fitness and health.
This entry was posted in Marathons, Running, Training and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Nagano Marathon Training Update (Week 7 of 7)

  1. Pingback: Race Report: 14th Nagano Olympic Commemorative Marathon | Running Inspired Blog

Leave a Reply

