I Love Bananas

Bananas are my favorite fruit and fortunately they provide great nutrition for runners. Bananas are an excellent source of carbohydrates and contain about 100 calories. They also contain potassium, which runners lose through sweating and help regulate muscle contraction and prevent cramping. This amazing fruit is easily digestible, so you can safely eat them before and after a run without the risk of experiencing any gastrointestinal issues.

Not only are bananas delicious, but they are cheap, healthy, convenient, and easily transportable. I also find them to provide a nice energy boost during the day. I eat a minimum of two a day, but have been known to eat as many as five or six. Doing a quick calculation, I probably eat at about 1,000 bananas a year. My co-workers think I’m nuts, I always have banana peels on my desk, but I just love this super food.

A couple years ago in Japan, there was a “Morning Banana” diet craze when a famous Japanese singer claimed she lost 15 pounds eating bananas. I’m not sure how effective the diet is, but I do remember that it was difficult to find bananas at my local grocery store. Fortunately, the frenzy eventually died down and I’m able to get my daily ration of bananas.

So if there was one fruit that should be a daily staple of a runner’s diet, I would not hesitate to recommend it be the magical banana.

About runninginspired

I’m in my mid-40s and have been running for about 19 years. I have finished 24 marathons with a personal best time of 3:04. I currently reside in San Diego, CA. I enjoy running since it keeps you honest and will give back what you put into it. Work hard, but smart, and good results will eventually follow. I like to experiment with training plans, gadgets, shoes, and nutrition to find what works for me. The primary purpose of this blog is to document my training and thoughts about running in my ongoing quest to improve my fitness and health.
This entry was posted in Nutrition, Running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I Love Bananas

  1. I used to run for about 6-7 years and I’ve never heard this info about bananas. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Jamie says:

    Bananas are really amazing. I get more buzz out of them than gels.

Leave a Reply

