Back in Business!

My new favorite running area – Otay Lake in Chula Vista, CA.

It has been a long and very stressful 4 months moving to San Diego from Japan.  Don’t think I ever want to move again, what a hassle and extremely expensive!  Having lived in Japan for 12 years, it has taken some time to adjust.  I miss Japan immensely, but at the same time, I’m having a great time getting acquainted Southern California.  Like all things in life, there are pros and cons to everything, and overall I’m happy to be here.  But Japan will always be my second home and I plan to visit often and continue to run marathons there — especially since they will have a direct JAL flight from San Diego to Narita starting in December!

As you can imagine, running has taken a bit of a back seat the past few months due to the move.  I did manage to maintain some level of fitness, averaging about 20 easy miles a week, but it certainly wasn’t enhancing my fitness.  In fact, I’m sure my fitness level is just a few notches above being sedentary.  Now that I’m finally getting into a routine and found my bearings, I’m ready to get back to business and put in some decent training.

To get motivated I signed up for the Carlsbad Marathon on January 27th.  I ran this marathon in 2001, so it will be fun to go back to see how the marathon has grown in the last 12 year.  From what I recall, it was a pretty hilly course.  At the time I was 29 years old and ran it in 3 hours and 16 minutes.  My goal is to beat this time at my current age of 41.  I basically have 13 more weeks to train, so I think it is a possibility if I put in the effort.  However, I plan to experiment this training cycle and use Hansons Marathon Method.  I’ll provide my training plan in a future post.

I also received confirmation for the 2013 Boston Marathon this week.  So I’ll roll into training for Boston right after completing Carlsbad.  This will be my first Boston Marathon, so I’m excited to be able to finally run the race.  To see how I qualified for Boston, click here.

Now that I’m settled in my new home, I plan to post more regularly.  San Diego is a great place for running – and almost any other outdoor endurance sport for that matter – so I imagine there will be a lot to ramble on about.

About runninginspired

I’m in my mid-40s and have been running for about 19 years. I have finished 24 marathons with a personal best time of 3:04. I currently reside in San Diego, CA. I enjoy running since it keeps you honest and will give back what you put into it. Work hard, but smart, and good results will eventually follow. I like to experiment with training plans, gadgets, shoes, and nutrition to find what works for me. The primary purpose of this blog is to document my training and thoughts about running in my ongoing quest to improve my fitness and health.
This entry was posted in Chula Vista, Japan, Running, San Diego, Training and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Back in Business!

  1. Jamie says:

    Great to hear from you again and good luck with your training!

  2. b2bwayne says:

    Good luck with your training at Carlsbad. I ran it a few years ago, is hilly but beautiful. Hope you’re enjoying San Diego. I visited Tokyo a few years ago and did some running there. Beautiful country. Please take care. – Wayne

    • Thanks for the comment, Wayne. I ran Carlsbad about 12 years ago, and as you mentioned, I remember it being pretty hilly. Been training on some hilly terrain the last few weeks, so hopefully that will prepare me a bit.

Leave a Reply

