Mountain Biking, Running in San Diego, and Other Random Topics

My New Mountain Bike

I bought a mountain bike last night and looking forward to hitting the trails in the area.  I’m a total newbie at mountain biking, but have a good friend who convinced me that it was a great thing to do and I’m easily gullible when it comes to endurance type sports.  In the past I’ve incorporated a little cycling as cross-training to complement my running, but it was usually on the street.  Maybe I’m a little too cautious, but I’ve never been real comfortable riding a bike on the road when you have vehicles zooming by you at 50 mph.  I’m always thinking it takes just one distracted driver and you’ll be in a world of hurt.  In that sense, I’m more enthused about going out and mixing it up with nature rather than drivers, although I’m sure mountain biking has it’s fair share of risks, I feel I’d have more control over these risks than over uncontrollable risks of the streets.  My plan is to get out and ride 2 to 3 times a week for about an hour on mostly graded dirt trails.

I’ve been living in San Diego for about three months now.  As far as running goes, I have to pinch myself to make sure I’m not dreaming.  This is an awesome city to run, the weather is perfect for running almost every day and there are so many great places to run – beaches, parks, mountains, lakes – you name it.  There seems to be an energy to the area that makes you want to get out there and do something physical, I rarely have to force myself out the door, I almost always look forward to my run.

Boston Marathon Confirmation of Acceptance

Received my “confirmation of acceptance” card from the Boston Marathon earlier this week.  This has been a lifelong goal of mine and at times I thought I’d never see the day.  Although I received the e-mail earlier notifying me of my acceptance, it really didn’t sink in until I received the card in the mail.  I’m so motivated to train hard and run well on April 15th, and will definitely put in my best effort.  I know of people who worked so hard to get into Boston, but once they got there, didn’t really give their best, choosing to just enjoy the moment.  I guess that’s fine, but to me, it is my Olympics and I’m planning to be there in peak condition.

Olympic Training Center Chula Vista

On a final note, since we are on the topic of the Olympics, I live two miles up the street from the Olympic Training Center in Chula Vista, CA.  If you are ever in the San Diego area, you should stop by and visit the campus.  I visited the place today and was very impressed of the world-class training facility.  The public can tour the campus most days and it is pretty inspiring to walk among and watch future Olympians and para-Olympians train – and best of all, it is FREE.

About runninginspired

I’m in my mid-40s and have been running for about 19 years. I have finished 24 marathons with a personal best time of 3:04. I currently reside in San Diego, CA. I enjoy running since it keeps you honest and will give back what you put into it. Work hard, but smart, and good results will eventually follow. I like to experiment with training plans, gadgets, shoes, and nutrition to find what works for me. The primary purpose of this blog is to document my training and thoughts about running in my ongoing quest to improve my fitness and health.
This entry was posted in Bicycle Riding, Chula Vista, Mountain Biking, Running, San Diego, Training, Travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mountain Biking, Running in San Diego, and Other Random Topics

  1. Melissa says:

    You are smart to train and do well for Boston. I have read reviews of people that just go for the enjoyment after working their butts off to make it. One in particular that I remember really regretted not training just as hard after he made it.

    • Thanks, Melissa. I figure since this may be a rare opportunity, I want to make the most of it. I’ve also heard of people who regretted not putting in their best effort for Boston thinking they would come back and run it hard next time, only never to have the opportunity again.

Leave a Reply

