Week 9 of 14 Training Update for the Carlsbad Marathon

Melon, December 19, 1997 - December 17, 2012...Embraced by angels in heaven above...eternally missed...forever loved...

Melon, December 19, 1997 – December 17, 2012…Embraced by angels in heaven above…eternally missed…forever loved…

The training continues to progress well and there is only 5 more weeks until the marathon.  I was unable to run the first two days of the week because we had to put one of our beautiful dogs to sleep.  She was having unrelenting and terrible seizures and was suffering immensely.  It was a very difficult decision to make, but I’m certain she is in a better place now.

With an abbreviated week of training, I was only able to get in 57 of 62 planned miles.  I did get my speed and long run workouts completed, so it was productive nonetheless.  I’m feeling pretty good at this point in my training and feel I’m where I need to be going in the final phase of my training.

Couple of fun facts that I came across recently.  Two of the best U.S. marathoners are from San Diego — Meb Keflezighi and Desiree Davila.  Meb trained at the Olympic Training Center in Chula Vista for a period of time, which is just down the road from my house.  Desiree went to Hilltop High School in Chula Vista, which is about 8 miles from my house.  So it is inspiring to know that not only are some of the best marathoners home grown in San Diego, but I probably routinely run some of the same routes they ran.  From what I understand, Meb and Desiree occasionally visit the Olympic Training Center, so hopefully one day I’ll have the pleasure of seeing them on one of my runs.

Week 9 Report Card

Report-Card-Wk9I give myself a B- this week.  The training runs were on pace, slept 7-8 hours each night, and ate an 80% vegan diet.  The cross-training was minimal, just a moderate amount of stretching/yoga.  Due to my dogs passing, the stress was higher than normal this week.

Training Runs

Monday – None

Tuesday – None

Wednesday – Strength Intervals (3 x 2 miles, 800m rest between intervals)

Thursday – EZ9

Friday – Tempo Run, 9 miles

Saturday – EZ10

Sunday – Long Run, 17 miles

carlsbad-marathon-wk9

About runninginspired

I’m in my mid-40s and have been running for about 19 years. I have finished 24 marathons with a personal best time of 3:04. I currently reside in San Diego, CA. I enjoy running since it keeps you honest and will give back what you put into it. Work hard, but smart, and good results will eventually follow. I like to experiment with training plans, gadgets, shoes, and nutrition to find what works for me. The primary purpose of this blog is to document my training and thoughts about running in my ongoing quest to improve my fitness and health.
This entry was posted in Chula Vista, Running, San Diego, Training and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

