Running Goals for 2013

Below is a recap of my running goals and what I achieved in 2012 along with my goals for 2013.  My goals for 2013 are basically incremental improvements over my achievements in 2012.  I’m not a big goal person anymore, but find that with running, they do seem to be helpful and motivating since most things with running are measurable.  As I mentioned last year, I think I am at a point in my running where I can still improve, but don’t expect to see any major breakthroughs.

Recap of 2012 Goals:

1.  Run 1,600 miles – Achieved.  Not exactly sure how many miles I ran this year since I didn’t officially log my miles from August – October, but if I take this into account, I easily ran over 1,700 miles this year.

2.  Run 4 Marathons – Only ran 2 marathons this year – Tokyo and Nagano.  The move this summer didn’t allow enough time to schedule any fall marathons.

3.  Run a sub 18:15 minute 5K race – Didn’t run any 5Ks this year.

4.  Run a sub 39 minute 10K race – Didn’t run any 10Ks this year.

5.  Run a sub 1:27 half marathon race – Achieved, ran a 1:25 half marathon in February.

6.  Run a sub 3:15 marathon and qualify to register for the Boston Marathon – Achieved, actually did it twice at Tokyo (3:13) and Nagano (3:12).

7.  Incorporate 2 days of cross-training (cycling/spinning) per week – Borderline achieved, probably could have done better in this area.

Goals for 2013:

1.  Run 1,800 miles

2.  Run 4 Marathons (Carlsbad, Boston, San Diego RNR, and a Fall marathon)

3.  Run a sub 3:10 marathon

4.  Eat 80% vegan, sleep 7 – 9 hours a night, maintain weight between 140 ~ 150 lbs, cross-train/stretch, and keep stress low

About runninginspired

I’m in my mid-40s and have been running for about 19 years. I have finished 24 marathons with a personal best time of 3:04. I currently reside in San Diego, CA. I enjoy running since it keeps you honest and will give back what you put into it. Work hard, but smart, and good results will eventually follow. I like to experiment with training plans, gadgets, shoes, and nutrition to find what works for me. The primary purpose of this blog is to document my training and thoughts about running in my ongoing quest to improve my fitness and health.
This entry was posted in Goals, Running and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Running Goals for 2013

  1. Melissa says:

    I love how you incorporate the sleep into your goals. And the vegan diet too. That’s what I am going to focus on as well. Good rest, good nutrition, good running, you know….peace, tranquility, balance, harmony…..

Leave a Reply

