Week 13 of 14 Training Update for the Carlsbad Marathon

One more week until the Carlsbad Marathon.  Started tapering on Friday and will run 3 to 6 easy miles each day until next Sunday.  I was reviewing the elevation profile of the marathon course yesterday and it looks a pretty challenging.  Fortunately, the longest hills are in the first half of the race, but the whole course is full of rolling hills.  I’ve been training on rolling hills, so I’m probably prepared, although I’ll need develop a strategy in order to not bonk too early in the race.

The marathon starts in the dark at 6:15 am.  I’m glad it is starting this early since it will be nice and cool from start to finish.  Most likely it will be high 40s at the start and low 60s at the finish.  Humidity won’t be a concern although wind may be a factor since it will be run along the coastline.  I’ll probably need to wake up around 3:30 am in order to fuel up and drive to the start line (about an hour away).

I still have reservations on how the Hansons Marathon Method will work out.  I followed their training plan with little deviation.  My biggest worry is that I’ll be able to finish the entire marathon at a relatively even pace.  Although the mileage was fairly substantial relative to my previous training cycles, the fact that my longest long run was only 18 miles that I did two weeks ago still causes me some doubts — I’m thinking I should have done at least a couple 20 to 22 milers.

I’m breaking in my new Brooks Glycerin 10.  So far I like them, although my feet and legs are still adjusting.  Wish I could have had another week or two running in them before the marathon.  My right foot is still recovering from an open blister that is healing very slowly, but the new shoes don’t appear to have any major hotspots, so hopefully I’ll avoid the blistering problem I had with the Newtons in the future.

Below is my training report card for the week.

Report Card

carlsbad-grade-wk13Overall, I give myself a B- this week.  Did every planned training run at the recommended paces.  Got between 7 – 9 hours sleep, although there were a couple days where the quality of sleep was not good. Ate okay, no major junk food binges, but did give in to some indulgences.  Very little cross training other than one day of core/stretching exercises.  It was a tough week at work, lots of deadlines and working extra hours, causing the stress levels to exceed my comfort zone.  Legs and body were a little tired this week, probably due to the stress and lower quality sleep.  Also, have an open blister that is healing slowly and is usually a little painful at the beginning of a run.  Not my finest week of training and lifestyle management, but hope to get everything into balance the final week going into the marathon.

Running Recap

I ran a total of 53 miles this week.

Monday – EZ 8 miles @ 8:42 pace

Tuesday – Strength Intervals, 6 x 1 mile (6:50, 6:44, 6:41, 6:37, 6:30, 6:13) with 400m recovery jog

Wednesday – Off

Thursday – Tempo Run, 10 miles (7:07 ~ 7:14 pace)

Friday – EZ 7 miles @ 9:03 pace

Saturday – EZ 8 miles @ 8:25 pace

Sunday – EZ 8 miles @ 9:25 pace

Training Plan

carlsbad-training-wk13

About runninginspired

I’m in my mid-40s and have been running for about 19 years. I have finished 24 marathons with a personal best time of 3:04. I currently reside in San Diego, CA. I enjoy running since it keeps you honest and will give back what you put into it. Work hard, but smart, and good results will eventually follow. I like to experiment with training plans, gadgets, shoes, and nutrition to find what works for me. The primary purpose of this blog is to document my training and thoughts about running in my ongoing quest to improve my fitness and health.
This entry was posted in Chula Vista, Running, San Diego, Training and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Week 13 of 14 Training Update for the Carlsbad Marathon

  1. Annabelle says:

    I love your report card! I am also following the Hansons Method for the first time in prep for Boston, I’ve just finished week 6. I’m already fretting over the strength workouts. Your mile repeats are text-book, great work on those descending splits! How do you find incorporating Kettlebell in your training? (I am level-1 certified, but have never really used it much during a training cycle)

    • Thank you, Annabelle. It will be interesting to see how effective HMM next Sunday.

      I found the strength intervals easier than the shorter intervals. Not sure why, but I tend to be better at longer intervals than shorter intervals. Guess I wasn’t programmed to be a sprinter.

      As far as incorporating kettebell, there are a few core Kettleworx video workout routines I use. They usually take about 15 to 20 minutes and I try to do them at 3 times a week, but I must admit I’ve fallen short many weeks during this training cycle.

      Good luck with you training for Boston!

      • Annabelle says:

        thanks! I’ll try out KB on my next rest day (erg, time constraints), and be looking for your race report!

  2. Dash says:

    Love the report card! Such a great idea!

  3. Melissa says:

    That’s some awesome miles you are putting in. Love the report card. Cross training has always been my downfall but I’m working on it. Good Luck!

    • Thanks, Melissa. Although I’ve put in a lot more miles than previous training cycles, I’ve been slacking in the other areas. I will need to balance this a little more for my next training cycle since just adding more miles at the expense of the other areas hasn’t improved my results – for me anyways.

Leave a Reply

