Revised Boston Marathon Training Plan

After receiving some excellent insight from supernorts (a 2:48 marathoner!) on the training plan I posted yesterday, I’ve decided to make some significant revisions.  He pointed out some areas, such as moving my rest days to Saturday in order to have a higher quality long run on Sunday.  He also suggested I incorporate two a day runs a couple times a week, which I have considered doing in the past, but have never done before.  After reflecting on his feedback, the more I thought about it, the more I liked it.  With the two a day runs, I will be able to get my weekly mileage into the 70 mile range without too much of an additional time commitment.

This will be a very challenging plan.  But given that I was running in the mid-50 to mid-60 mile range for weeks on end during my last training cycle, I think I’m conditioned enough to move up into the low-70 mile range if I don’t push the pace too hard on my easy days.  If it feels like it is too much, then I’ll make some adjustments along the way.

So this pretty much ends my experiment with the Hansons Marathon Method.  Although I’m sure the method is highly effective for many people, I personally didn’t find it any more effective than other plans I have followed.  I may give it another try in the future, but since I’m training for Boston, the Granddaddy of all marathons, I want to put forth my best training effort possible.

I ran about 25 easy miles this week and still in recovery mode.  Most of the lingering pain from last Sunday’s marathon has dissipated, but will continue running easy next week before I pick it up again.

Revised Boston Marathon Training Plan

About runninginspired

I’m in my mid-40s and have been running for about 19 years. I have finished 24 marathons with a personal best time of 3:04. I currently reside in San Diego, CA. I enjoy running since it keeps you honest and will give back what you put into it. Work hard, but smart, and good results will eventually follow. I like to experiment with training plans, gadgets, shoes, and nutrition to find what works for me. The primary purpose of this blog is to document my training and thoughts about running in my ongoing quest to improve my fitness and health.
This entry was posted in Marathons, Running, Training and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Revised Boston Marathon Training Plan

  1. supernorts says:

    Hi again lol, that does looks a lot better.
    Jealous you are doing Boston i have always wanted to do Boston, however iam giving marathons a miss for a few years now. focusing on shorter stuff where my best lies.
    Just one thing to add on your plan, 10 mile tempo is a very good session however it is the hardest speed session you will do in your training so personally i would only do this session 3 times during a twelve week cycle. a 10 mile tempo coupled with 2.5 mile warm up and down is a formidable session and will leave you tired for quite a while afterwards. All your efforts on a Tuesday tend to be mile and longer specific so make Thursday shorter and more intense something to keep the legs quick and sharp as lets face it you will be doing a lot of mileage so you wont be clipping along as quick as you would be on your normal runs as normal. The big boys tend to do track workouts whilst marathon training, im not saying that as your plan is hard enough however 15 times a minute or 10 x 2 minutes on 2 minutes off is a very good session. my personal fav for marathon training is the mike gratton session 3 x 10 minute tempo with 5 minute jog recoveries. you have to be controlled though as you get to the last one and your blowing steam. the last time i did that session i was lying on the floor under a bridge absolutely knackered. not a pretty sight. haha

    whatever your thoughts on this it does look a lot better, as you said every single athlete is different and needs a different approach which is why generic programs arent the best around.

    • supernorts, thanks really appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback. I’m really looking forward to Boston, so I figured I shouldn’t take it for granted and put forth my best effort, who knows when I’ll ever have the opportunity to run it again. You’re right, the tempo is a pretty killer workout, so maybe I’ll trade a couple of those runs with some shorter sessions. All the best!

  2. I tried out the Hansons Marathon Method for my last marathon in January, but I think I need more “over 16 mile runs”. It’s helpful to see your training plan. I hope your training goes well!

    • Hi Tina,

      I agree, at least for me, I don’t think 16 miles was enough. The “cumulative fatigue” theory makes sense, but psychologically, I struggle with it. I may try HMM again in the future, but decided I’ll try something different for Boston. Good luck with your training!

Leave a Reply

