The NutriBullet: Works As Advertised

Spinach, banana, apple, carrots, almonds, and sesame seeds and water.

Spinach, banana, pineapple, apple, carrots, almonds, and sesame seeds and water (mostly organic).

P2163866

Set the container on the NutriBullet base.

P2163867

Give it about a 1 minute blast.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

100% liquified.  Enjoy!

I was flipping through some channels last weekend and came across an infomercial on a blender called the NurtriBullet.  But unlike everyday juicers and blenders, the NutriBullet claims to completely break down ingredients into their most nutritious and absorptive state.  Of course, I was skeptical of the claims, but I figured for $120 bucks and a little online research, why not give it a try.

I have a couple blenders and a juicer, but have never been completely satisfied with their performance.  The blenders are always troublesome, never really blending things well, and hard to clean up.  I had a little more luck with our juicer, but there is always leftover waste and is a pain to clean up.  As a result, I only use them a few times a week.

I ordered the NutriBullet on Sunday and it arrived on Thursday.  I immediately unpackaged it and gave it a try, mixing a bunch of vegetables and fruits together with water.  In less than 5 minutes, I was sipping on a highly nutritious smoothie – I like to think of it as a liquid salad.  It actually works as advertised, it pulverized everything in less than a minute and there was no chunks of anything whatsoever.  Cleaning up afterwards was a just as easy – just a quick soap and water rinse in the sink and you’re done.

I have downed about six Nutriblasts over the past three days.  I’m now eating (or rather drinking) raw stuff I would never eat otherwise, such as kale and ginger roots, because the the liquified beverage goes down so easy.  I’m surprised it has taken this long for someone to come up with this nifty little appliance.  Now the taste of the Nutriblasts isn’t great, but it’s not bad either.  I found the drinks to be very filling and could probably even be a meal replacement for people on diets.  I have also noticed that I don’t have as many urges to eat  junk food.

Not sure if it is a placebo effect, but I almost immediately felt like I had more energy.  The claim is that since the NutriBullet breaks things down for you, your stomach doesn’t have to work as hard and the nutrients go directly to the bloodstream.  Who know if it is true or not, but it makes sense.

With this handy new appliance, I’m excited about how this will help with my recovery efforts with all the endurance training that I have planned.  They have a number of recipes for healing muscles and reducing inflammation that I’m going to try.

I’ll write another post in a couple weeks providing an update on my experience with the NutriBullet.

This entry was posted in Nutrition, Running, San Diego, Training and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The NutriBullet: Works As Advertised

  1. Pingback: Boston Marathon Training Update (Week 3 of 11) | Running Inspired Blog

  2. Pingback: Boston Marathon Training Update (Week 4 of 11) | Running Inspired Blog

  3. ricgrb1 says:

    I love my nutribullet. I also have a ninja and use it often. you can see the two comparisons at my page http://www.squidoo.com/compare-nutribullet-and-ninja-blender

Leave a Reply

