Boston Marathon Training Update (Week 4 of 11)

Got in about 5 hours on the bike trainer this week.  Although not the same as running, it still provides a decent aerobic workout.

Got in about 5 hours on the bike trainer this week. Although not the same as running, it still provides a decent aerobic workout.

The good news is my Achilles tendon is feeling pretty good, I would say I’m about 80-90% healed.  However, I am experiencing minor aches and pains in other areas of my legs and feet, such as my left heal and right knee, although nothing that should prevent me from training.  I’ve changed my training plan significantly to ensure I get to the start line as healthy as possible.  So the 60 and 70 mile running weeks I originally planned has been cut in half since I’ll only be running the three key workouts each week (intervals on Tuesdays, tempo on Thursdays, and the long run on Sunday).   Since I’ll only be running three days a week, they will all need to be quality runs with a purpose.  The primary change will be running my long runs faster than I had originally planned.  To make up for some of reduced mileage, I’ll be doing a lot more cross-training mostly on my bike trainer.  The cross-training probably won’t completely make up for my reduced mileage, but should still be beneficial.  I’ve been using the bike trainer for about a week now and it is surprisingly a really good aerobic workout. I’m also going to focus a bit more on core strength exercises.

On Saturdays I like to try and get a leisurely mountain bike ride in.  These are usually low intensity rides to not diminish my Sunday long runs.

On Saturdays I like to try and get a leisurely mountain bike ride in. These are usually low intensity rides in order to not diminish my Sunday long runs.

Report Card

Boston-Marathon-Grade-Wk4This week I ran 41 miles and cycled on the bike trainer for over 5 hours.  My interval run on Tuesday was not great (started too fast), the tempo run on Thursday was a little better, and had a decent 18 mile long run on Sunday.  Compared to a year ago, I know I have lost some speed, so will need to work on that over the next few weeks.  I’ve been sleeping well, a solid 7 to 9 hours of sleep each night.  With my NutriBullet blender I’ve taken my diet up a notch, lots more fruits and vegetables and less junk food.  With the bike trainer with a good amount of core training this week, I couldn’t have done much better in the cross-training area.  Although the Achilles is feeling a lot better, other minor aches and pains are presenting themselves.  But overall, I’m happy with this week’s training – just need to get a little more speed in the legs and get the body fully healed.

Running Recap (41 miles)

Monday – EZ6 @ 8:25 pace (morning), 1 hour Bike Trainer (afternoon)

Tuesday – Intervals (morning, 1 mile [6:20], 2 miles [13:13], 2 x 800s [3:13, 3:17]), 48 minutes Bike Trainer (afternoon)

Wednesday – 45 minutes Bike Trainer (morning)

Thursday – Tempo (morning, 2 miles warm-up, 4 miles tempo (6:52~7:00/mile pace), 2 miles cooldown), 45 minutes Bike Trainer (afternoon)

Friday – 1 hour Bike Trainer (morning)

Saturday – Mountain Biking

Sunday – Long Run, 18 miles @ 7:48/mile pace

Training Plan

Boston-Training-Plan-Wk4

About runninginspired

I’m in my mid-40s and have been running for about 19 years. I have finished 24 marathons with a personal best time of 3:04. I currently reside in San Diego, CA. I enjoy running since it keeps you honest and will give back what you put into it. Work hard, but smart, and good results will eventually follow. I like to experiment with training plans, gadgets, shoes, and nutrition to find what works for me. The primary purpose of this blog is to document my training and thoughts about running in my ongoing quest to improve my fitness and health.
This entry was posted in Bicycle Riding, Chula Vista, Mountain Biking, Running, Running Gear, San Diego, Training and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

