Boston Marathon Training Update (Week 5 of 11)

Got in a solid week of training and feel I’m progressing moderately well, although still not where I want to be at this stage of the training cycle.  My speed is just not there for the intervals, although I seem to do okay with the tempo and longer runs.  The Achilles tendon injury is still hanging in there.  I don’t feel any pain in the tendon for about 8 miles, then a mild pain begins to take root and gets progressively more painful, but bearable.  Although I’m able to finish the key workouts without any difficulty, I’ll need to monitor it carefully and possibly take a few days off if it begins to get worse.  Been doing pretty well with the cross-training.  Put in over 5 hours on the bike trainer this week at a moderate effort and got in my planned core/strength training, although I probably should do a little more stretching since my legs have been a little tight.

This has probably been one of the strangest training cycles I’ve encountered.  Not only did I have to adjust my plan early due to injury, my body just doesn’t seem to be adapting as quickly to the training runs as it has in the past.  As a result, with only a few more weeks left before I begin the taper phase, my confidence level is not very high going into this marathon.  Although I feel relatively fit, it is going to be a interesting to see what happens come race day.  Oh well, hopefully the training effect will take root and I’ll begin to see some noticeable improvement.

Report Card

boston-grade-wk5This week I ran 36 miles and cycled on the bike trainer for over 5 hours.  My interval run (6 x 1200s) on Tuesday was okay (but below target pace) and 10-mile tempo on Thursday and 15-mile long run were on target.  Sleep was good, usually a solid 7 to 9 hours of sleep each night with short naps in the afternoon.  Ate lots of fruits and vegetables, mostly vegan.  However, my weight hasn’t changed.  I thought I would lose some pounds by increasing my fruit and vegetable intake, but I guess all the fruit calories don’t help when it comes to weight loss.  With the bike trainer and core training this week, I did about as much as I could in this area, but should add more stretching.  The Achilles is injury is still hanging in there along with other minor aches and pains, but nothing that prevents me from running.  Overall, a productive week, but hope to get some speed back into my interval runs.

Running Recap (36 miles)

Monday – 1 hour Bike Trainer (morning)

Tuesday – (1) Intervals (morning, 6 x 1200s – 5:10, 5:03, 4:59, 4:54, 4:48, 4:35), (2) 45 minutes Bike Trainer (afternoon)

Wednesday – 1 hour Bike Trainer (morning)

Thursday – (1) Tempo (morning, 1 mile warm-up, 10 miles tempo (6:54~7:18/mile pace), 1 mile cooldown), (2) 45 minutes Bike Trainer (afternoon)

Friday – 1 hour Bike Trainer (morning)

Saturday – 1 hour Bike Trainer (morning)

Sunday – Long Run, 15 miles @ 7:43/mile pace

Training Plan

boston-training-plan-wk5

About runninginspired

I’m in my mid-40s and have been running for about 19 years. I have finished 24 marathons with a personal best time of 3:04. I currently reside in San Diego, CA. I enjoy running since it keeps you honest and will give back what you put into it. Work hard, but smart, and good results will eventually follow. I like to experiment with training plans, gadgets, shoes, and nutrition to find what works for me. The primary purpose of this blog is to document my training and thoughts about running in my ongoing quest to improve my fitness and health.
This entry was posted in Chula Vista, Running, San Diego, Training and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Boston Marathon Training Update (Week 5 of 11)

  1. supernorts says:

    Looks like you are suffering a but but pushing on regardless good stuff for the effort. your speed efforts might just be slower as your legs arent used to the amount of cycling instead of running you are doing. cycling may be low impact but it can take quite a bit out of your thighs, which will take a bit out of you when you are trying to really go fast.

    i have to be really careful of doing too much legs weight in the morning then trying to run fast later in the day, just takes too much out of my legs still even though i have been doing it for a long time.

    • Yeah, maybe the cycling may be taking more out of me than I think. I’ve crossed train in the past – usually only twice a week, but never the amount I’m doing now. Maybe I’ll back off on the cycling a bit by reducing the time by 15 minutes each bike trainer workout this week and see if I have a little more spring in my legs. Thanks for the comment!

Leave a Reply

