Boston Marathon Training Update (Week 8 of 11)

Received the Boston Marathon packet in the mail on Friday.  Only 22 more days to go!

Received the Boston Marathon packet in the mail on Friday. Only 22 more days to go!

Only three weeks to go before I toe the line at the 117th Boston Marathon.  I received my packet in the mail yesterday and will be in the first wave of runners.  I am getting a little excited now, this is a race I’ve wanted to run for a very long time and it is finally here.

It was another solid week of training and my confidence is continues to build.  I’m not in PR shape, but feel I’m in shape to run a marathon between 3:15 to 3:25.  I don’t plan to go into Boston with any particular time goal, but will probably pace myself somewhere within that range depending upon weather conditions and how I feel that day.  The course does look pretty challenging, very hilly throughout, so that will be a big unknown on how my body handles it.  During this training cycle, I did train on some hilly terrain during my long runs, so feel somewhat prepared.

My achilles continues to get better and have barely felt any pain during my runs this week.  This afternoon I completed a 20 mile long run pain free, so I’m feeling pretty good that I’m going to get to the starting line relatively healthy since I’ll begin reducing mileage over the next three weeks.  Still have some minor aches and pains that pop up here and there, but nothing I can’t run through.  The Newton Gravity shoes, although not perfect, are much more comfortable to run in than my previous Brooks Glycerin 10 shoes.

At this point in time, with only three weeks left, there is really not much more I can do to improve.  Just need to not do anything stupid and get to the start line in one piece.  Although I’m not in the shape I hoped to be in, managing a moderate level injury was a great learning experience on finding alternate ways to still get to the start line in decent shape.  Although I’m not 100% of where I wanted to be, I’m thrilled that I got to at least 80 – 90%.

Report Card

Boston-Marathon-Grade-Wk8This week I ran 37 miles and cycled on the bike trainer for 3.25 hours.  My interval run (10 x 400s) on Tuesday was great, tempo on Thursday was very good, and 20-mile long run on Sunday was okay.  It was the first time in a while that I hit all my planned paces, although I experienced hydration issues on my long run, resulting in slogging through the last three miles.  I slept between 6 to 8 hours of sleep each night, will need to work on this area over the next few weeks.  Ate quite a bit of fruits and vegetables and meals were mostly vegan, but there were a couple days where I let loose and wasn’t disciplined and ended up eating too much junk.  Got all my planned time on the bike trainer, did three core training sessions, and incorporated some yoga/stretching most days.  Stress was relatively low this week.  The achilles continues to improve and feel the body is finally adapting to the training.  Overall, another solid week, but haven’t been able to put it all together for every facet of my training.

Running Recap (37 miles)

Monday – 45 minutes Bike Trainer

Tuesday – Intervals (10 x 400s w/400 rest jog between intervals, 1:24, 1:24, 1:23, 1:28, 1:22, 1:25, 1:20, 1:23, 1:22, 1:18)

Wednesday – 45 minutes Bike Trainer

Thursday – Tempo (1 mile warm-up, 7 miles tempo (6:41 ~ 7:09/mile pace), 1 mile cooldown)

Friday – 45 minutes Bike Trainer

Saturday – 1 hour Bike Trainer

Sunday – Long Run, 20 miles @ 7:39/mile pace

Training Plan

Boston-Marathon-Training-Plan-Wk8

About runninginspired

I’m in my mid-40s and have been running for about 19 years. I have finished 24 marathons with a personal best time of 3:04. I currently reside in San Diego, CA. I enjoy running since it keeps you honest and will give back what you put into it. Work hard, but smart, and good results will eventually follow. I like to experiment with training plans, gadgets, shoes, and nutrition to find what works for me. The primary purpose of this blog is to document my training and thoughts about running in my ongoing quest to improve my fitness and health.
This entry was posted in Chula Vista, Running, Running Gear, San Diego, Training and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

