Boston Marathon Training Update (Week 9 of 11)

Two weeks to go until 117th Boston Marathon.  I have arranged my travel plans, although I’m still thinking about attending a Red Sox game during the weekend.  Hopefully, this year we’ll have good weather for the race, seems to be the roll of the dice every year.  Haven’t thought about my race strategy yet, but will need to put some thought into it later this week.

Finished another solid week of training for my first of three week taper period.  My body seems to be getting stronger and the pains I experienced early in my training are beginning to fade away.  My Achilles tendon injury is pretty much a non-factor when I run now, although it is still not 100% since I sometimes feel a very dull pain every once in a while.  I seemed to have recently developed a mild case of plantar fasciitis in my left heel, but the pain goes away within 5 minutes of starting a run.  I’ve been massaging it with a golf ball every day, which seems to help keep it at bay.  Otherwise, everything else is functioning properly and the body is feeling pretty good.

I will continue tapering this week, reducing my mileage another 25%, but still maintain the intensity of each run — they will just be shorter runs.  The taper can be a tricky period, but I find the key is to relax, get plenty of rest, stay hydrated, and just let your body heal.  Also, now is the time I really need to eat very healthy, limit the calories since I won’t be burning as many, and avoid the junk food — I’ll have plenty of time to indulge after the marathon.  Most likely I am going to gain some weight, possibly a 3 – 5 pounds, but I don’t worry too much about it since most of it is just water weight.

Report Card

boston-marathon-grade-wk9This week I ran 29 miles and cycled on the bike trainer for 3.25 hours.  My interval run (8 x 800s) on Tuesday was horrible, tempo on Thursday was great, and 13-mile long run on Sunday was solid.  I was still fatigued on Tuesday from my long run, so instead of trying to push the pace, I decided to do the intervals at a moderate pace to avoid risking injury.  As I’ve gained more experience as a runner, I’ve realized that if you’re not feeling it, just take it down a notch or two and hope to come back strong on the next workout.  I slept between 7 to 9 hours of sleep each night, although there were a couple of nights where the quality of sleep wasn’t good.  Ate a good amount of fruits and vegetables and most meals were vegan, although I did eat some steak tacos and fries on Friday night, which I came to regret later that night.  I find that the more you eat vegetarian or vegan, the harder it is to digest meat.  I got all my planned time on the bike trainer, did three core training sessions, and incorporated some yoga/stretching most days.  Stress was moderate this week.  The body continues to get stronger and the pains I am experiencing are very minor.  Overall, another solid B+ week.

Running Recap (29 miles)

Monday – 45 minutes Bike Trainer

Tuesday – Intervals (8 x 800s w/90 second rest jog between intervals (3:17, 3:11, 3:11, 3:12, 3:14, 3:20, 3:03, 3:00)

Wednesday – 45 minutes Bike Trainer

Thursday – Tempo (2 mile warm-up, 5 miles tempo (6:18 ~ 6:54/mile pace), 1 mile cooldown)

Friday – 45 minutes Bike Trainer

Saturday – 1 hour Bike Trainer

Sunday – Long Run, 13 miles @ 7:20/mile pace

Training Plan

boston-marathon-training-plan-wk9

About runninginspired

I’m in my mid-40s and have been running for about 19 years. I have finished 24 marathons with a personal best time of 3:04. I currently reside in San Diego, CA. I enjoy running since it keeps you honest and will give back what you put into it. Work hard, but smart, and good results will eventually follow. I like to experiment with training plans, gadgets, shoes, and nutrition to find what works for me. The primary purpose of this blog is to document my training and thoughts about running in my ongoing quest to improve my fitness and health.
This entry was posted in Chula Vista, Running, Running Gear, San Diego, Training and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

