Boston Marathon Training Update (Week 10 of 11)

One more week until the marathon.  I’m excited, but it probably won’t sink in that I’m actually running the Boston Marathon until marathon weekend.  Boston is a great city, so looking forward to all the race weekend festivities.

Earlier this week I came up with my pacing strategy.  I tried to balance being conservative, but not so conservative that I leave a lot on the table at the end of the marathon.  I’m sure the hilly course will take its toll on the quads, so hopefully my planned pace strategy is appropriate for my fitness level.

Finished a good second week of a three week taper period.  I’m relatively healthy, other a bit of pain on my left heal/arch area.  The pain normally goes away within the first mile of a run, so it shouldn’t be a problem come race day.  Haven’t experienced any pain in my Achilles tendon, so that’s a big relief.

I will continue tapering this last week, reducing my mileage to less than a third of what I normally run.  I will run three times this week, with some short intervals (6 x 400s) on Tuesday, a few miles at marathon pace on Thursday, and a short easy 3 mile run on Saturday – for a total of about 10 to 12 miles.  The marathon is on Monday (Patriot’s Day), so that will give me Sunday as another full rest day before the marathon.  I will not be doing any cross or strength training this week, although I’ll try to get some stretching in.  I’ll also try to get 8 – 9 hours of sleep each night and stay hydrated.

Report Card

Boston-Marathon-Grade-Wk10This week I ran 25 miles and cycled on the bike trainer for 3 hours.  My interval run (5 x 1K) on Tuesday went well, tempo on Thursday was on target, and 10-mile long run on Sunday was solid.  I slept most nights between 7 to 8 hours.  I ate pretty well, mostly vegan.  I got the planned time on the bike trainer, did three core training sessions, and incorporated some yoga/stretching some days.  Stress was pretty low this week.  The body continues to heal and no major pains.  Overall grade of A- this week.

Running Recap (29 miles)

Monday – 15 minutes core, 45 minutes Bike Trainer

Tuesday – Intervals (5 x 1K w/400m rest jog between intervals (3:50, 3:45, 3:46, 3:46, and 3:39)

Wednesday – 15 minutes core, 45 minutes Bike Trainer

Thursday – Tempo 2 miles warm-up, 3 miles at tempo (6:46, 6:43, and 6:31), 2 miles cooldown

Friday – 15 minutes core, 45 minutes Bike Trainer

Saturday – 10 minutes strength, 45 minutes Bike Trainer

Sunday – Long Run, 11 miles @ 7:25/mile pace

Training Plan

Boston-Marathon-Plan-Wk10

About runninginspired

I’m in my mid-40s and have been running for about 19 years. I have finished 24 marathons with a personal best time of 3:04. I currently reside in San Diego, CA. I enjoy running since it keeps you honest and will give back what you put into it. Work hard, but smart, and good results will eventually follow. I like to experiment with training plans, gadgets, shoes, and nutrition to find what works for me. The primary purpose of this blog is to document my training and thoughts about running in my ongoing quest to improve my fitness and health.
This entry was posted in Chula Vista, Running, San Diego, Training and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Boston Marathon Training Update (Week 10 of 11)

Leave a Reply

