Next: San Diego Rock ‘n’ Roll Marathon

epic-summer-run1With the Boston Marathon now behind me, I’m beginning to train for the San Diego Rock ‘n’ Roll Marathon on June 2nd.  The marathon is only about 5 weeks away, so my plan is to maintain my fitness level and see where that takes me.  I have no time goal.  This will be the first time I’ve run a Rock ‘n’ Roll series marathon and it looks like a lot of fun.

For those of you who have been following my blog, I completed the Boston Marathon in 3:25:52.  This was a rather conservative pace and I never hit the wall.  As a result, my recovery from Boston has gone well.  I took an entire week off from running after Boston and started easing back into the training routine this week.

The course for the Rock ‘n’ Roll marathon is new this year and will end at Petco Park where the San Diego Padres play.  It’s funny, but after reviewing the elevation profile, it looks somewhat similar to the Boston Marathon course, with an early downhill portion, then flat until a significant hill starts around mile 20, then downhill for the last couple of miles.

This will be my third marathon this year.  Although I planned on running four marathons in 2013, most likely it will be my last marathon for the year.  This summer and fall, I’m going to work on improving speed and run some shorter races, primarily focusing on the half marathon.  I just haven’t felt right this year with my training cycles, and I think much of it has to do with moving from Japan to San Diego last summer when I took a few months off from running.  As a result, I never really had that solid foundation to build upon.  I’m also getting older, so that may be part of it too.  So I’m hoping this change in focus during the second half of 2013 will build a stronger base when I begin my next marathon training cycle for the spring 2014 LA Marathon.

Below is my San Diego Rock ‘n’ Roll Marathon training plan.

SD Marathon Training Plan Wk1

About runninginspired

I’m in my mid-40s and have been running for about 19 years. I have finished 24 marathons with a personal best time of 3:04. I currently reside in San Diego, CA. I enjoy running since it keeps you honest and will give back what you put into it. Work hard, but smart, and good results will eventually follow. I like to experiment with training plans, gadgets, shoes, and nutrition to find what works for me. The primary purpose of this blog is to document my training and thoughts about running in my ongoing quest to improve my fitness and health.
This entry was posted in Running, San Diego, Training and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

