San Diego RnR Marathon Training Update (Week 1 of 6)

This was a planned easy training week since I’m technically still recovering from the Boston Marathon.  Fortunately, I’m feeling pretty good and should be able to carry my current fitness into the San Diego Rock ‘n’ Roll Marathon.  This morning I ran 16 miles at an average 7:46/mile pace, which was a little faster than I was planning.

I do plan to change one thing for this short training cycle, which is to reduce my carbohydrates (although not eliminate) and replace those calories with healthy fats.  I was listening to a podcast (Runner Academy with Matt Johnson) where the host interviewed Dr. Tim Noakes, a highly respected sports scientist who wrote the The Lore of Running.  Dr. Noakes recently did a total 180 on his nutrition advice advocating a high fat, low carbohydrate diet for endurance athletes.  Dr. Noakes has personally been on the diet for a couple years and experienced major success with it.  I was skeptical at first, but then came across a book yesterday titled Eating for Endurance by Dr. Philip Maffetone.  Dr. Maffetone, back in the 90s, advocated a higher fat diet for endurance athletes and after reading a good part of the book, it makes some sense.  For those who may not know, Dr. Maffetone coached Mark Allen, the winner won six Ironman Triathlon titles, for many years.  Dr. Noakes did caveat that this diet is not for everyone, but if you have an intolerance to a high carbohydrate diet, which he says about half the population probably does, this may be worth considering.  So I’m going to give it a chance and see what happens.  But if you get a opportunity, I highly recommend you listen to the podcast.

After the San Diego RnR Marathon, I plan to do a few half marathons this summer/fall.  There are three half marathons in the San Diego area that I plan on running – America’s Finest City Half Marathon (Aug 18th), Raptor Ridge Half Marathon (trail, Oct 13th), and Silver Strand Half Marathon (Nov 17th).  Focusing on shorter these races will be a welcome break from the full marathon training that started back in October.

Report Card

SD-Grade-Wk1This week I ran 31 miles and cycled on the bike trainer for 3.5 hours. I ran three times this week, all at a moderate pace.  Next week I’ll begin incorporating the speed work.  I ate relatively well, but as mentioned above, plan to move toward a lower carb, higher fat diet.  Not exactly sure what foods I’ll be substituting, still need to do some research in this area, but the fats will be of the healthy whole foods variety.  Didn’t maintain my hydration very well this week, need to make sure I drink more fluids.  Over the next couple of weeks, I would like to try and get my weight under 145 lbs (currently around 147 lbs) before the marathon, so I’m hoping the higher fat diet will help me lose a few pounds.  For cross-training, I got my planned time on the bike trainer and did three core training sessions.  Didn’t do as much stretching this week as I would have liked, skipped a couple days.  Stress was kept pretty low this week.  I have no major injuries or pain, but still have the lingering heal pain in my left foot.  I also got a pretty large blood blister on the bottom of my middle toe on my right foot from running the Boston Marathon that hasn’t really bothered me, but looks worse than it really is.  Overall, I’d give myself a B this week.

Running Recap (31 miles)

Monday – 15 minutes core, 45 minutes Bike Trainer

Tuesday – EZ7 (8:34/mile pace)

Wednesday – 15 minutes core, 45 minutes Bike Trainer

Thursday – EZ8 (7:30/mile pace)

Friday – 15 minutes core, 45 minutes Bike Trainer

Saturday – 10 minutes strength, 70 minutes Bike Trainer

Sunday – Long Run, 16 miles (7:46/mile pace)

Training Plan

SD-Training-Plan-Wk1

About runninginspired

I’m in my mid-40s and have been running for about 19 years. I have finished 24 marathons with a personal best time of 3:04. I currently reside in San Diego, CA. I enjoy running since it keeps you honest and will give back what you put into it. Work hard, but smart, and good results will eventually follow. I like to experiment with training plans, gadgets, shoes, and nutrition to find what works for me. The primary purpose of this blog is to document my training and thoughts about running in my ongoing quest to improve my fitness and health.
This entry was posted in Nutrition, Running, San Diego, Training and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

