San Diego RnR Marathon Training Update (Week 2 of 6)

It was a good week of training, although I must admit I am not motivated for this marathon.  I don’t have a lot of expectations going into it and that’s probably not a the best attitude to have.  My body is trying to tell me something, but I’m a bit bullheaded and once I’ve committed to something, I will complete it.  I am sure when I do complete it, I’ll be happy that I ran it, but I really need to reassess how many marathons I run each year.

As I mentioned last week, I’m beginning to fiddle with my diet.  I am reducing my carbohydrates and replacing those calories with healthy fats.  I haven’t eliminated carbohydrates totally, but have probably reduced them by about 50%.  I’ve increased my fat intake by eating more nuts, seeds, olive oil, full-fat yogurt, eggs, and fatty fish – like salmon.  I still eat about the same amount of fruits and vegetables.

I noticed a couple things so far.  First, although my total calorie intake probably hasn’t changed much, I don’t feel as hungry throughout the day.  Second, I noticed that my energy levels are a little more consistent, I don’t experience the highs and lows, which probably means my blood sugar is not spiking after loading up with carbs.  However, so far I haven’t seen any difference when it comes to my running, but that just may take time for the body to adjust.

Report Card

sdrnr-grade-wk2This week I ran 35 miles and cycled on the bike trainer for 3.5 hours.  I ran three times this week.  The intervals on Tuesday and tempo on Thursday went well.  The pace for my Sunday long run was slower than planned, which may be due to my lower carb diet.  I ate healthy, mostly whole foods.  Slept well, getting a solid 7 to 8 hours of sleep each night.  Did a little better keeping hydrated this week.  My weight was about the same as last week, holding steady around 146 – 147 lbs.  For cross-training, I got my planned time on the bike trainer, did three core training sessions and a bit of upper body strength training.  Stretched at least 10 minutes daily.  Stress was kept low.  No major injuries, but the pain in my left heal (plantar fasciitis) just keeps lingering.  It doesn’t seem to get any worse, but it doesn’t seem to get any better either.  Fortunately, I think I have a mild case and I have been massaging it daily with a golf ball.  Overall, I’d give myself another B this week.

Running Recap (35 miles)

Monday – 15 minutes core, 45 minutes Bike Trainer

Tuesday – Intervals (3 x 1600s w/400m rest jog between intervals – 6:17, 6:06, and 6:07)

Wednesday – 15 minutes core, 45 minutes Bike Trainer, 10 minutes strength

Thursday – Tempo (1 mile warm-up, 10 miles @ tempo pace, 1 mile cooldown, tempo pace 6:26 ~ 7:06/mile)

Friday – 15 minutes core, 45 minutes Bike Trainer

Saturday – 10 minutes strength, 60 minutes Bike Trainer

Sunday – Long Run, 15 miles (7:56/mile pace)

Training Plan

sd-training-plan-wk2

About runninginspired

I’m in my mid-40s and have been running for about 19 years. I have finished 24 marathons with a personal best time of 3:04. I currently reside in San Diego, CA. I enjoy running since it keeps you honest and will give back what you put into it. Work hard, but smart, and good results will eventually follow. I like to experiment with training plans, gadgets, shoes, and nutrition to find what works for me. The primary purpose of this blog is to document my training and thoughts about running in my ongoing quest to improve my fitness and health.
This entry was posted in Nutrition, Running, San Diego, Training and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to San Diego RnR Marathon Training Update (Week 2 of 6)

  1. I’ve been focusing more on fats and less on carbs too. I’m glad to see an experienced marathoner trying the same. I was hoping I wasn’t making a big mistake. I find my energy levels fairly consistent too.

Leave a Reply

