San Diego RnR Marathon Training Update (Week 3 of 6)

It was an undisciplined week.  As I mentioned in last week’s post, my motivation is just not there for this marathon.  As a result, I’m pretty much just going through the motions.  I also had relatives visiting this past weekend, which gave me an excuse to gouge myself on unhealthy food I normally wouldn’t eat.

I’m going to try and become a little more disciplined this week.  However, as far as the marathon itself goes, it will definitely just be a fun run with no expectations other than to enjoy the atmosphere and finish.  The good news is I still enjoy running, so I don’t think it’s burnout, just need a break from marathon training.

Report Card

sdrnr-grade-wk3I ran 33 miles and cycled on the bike trainer for 3.25 hours.  I ran three times this week —  intervals on Tuesday, tempo on Thursday, and long run on Saturday.  Only hit my targeted pace for the tempo run and cut my long run three miles short.  My diet was a disaster, especially this past weekend and my weight also went up a couple pounds.  Slept okay, usually getting a solid 7 to 8 hours of sleep each night.  I got my planned time in on the bike trainer, did three core training sessions and a bit of upper body strength training.  Stretched about every other day for 10 minutes.  Stress was moderate.  No major injuries, but the pain in my left heal (plantar fasciitis) still lingers.  Overall, I’d give myself C for the week.

Running Recap (35 miles)

Monday – 15 minutes core, 45 minutes Bike Trainer

Tuesday – Intervals (3 x 1600s w/400m rest jog between intervals – 1:38, 1:37, 1:36, 1:34, 1:30, 1:35, 1:31, 1:28, 1:32 and 1:29)

Wednesday – 15 minutes core, 45 minutes Bike Trainer

Thursday – Tempo (1 mile warm-up, 7 miles @ tempo pace 6:13 ~ 7:12/mile)

Friday – 15 minutes core, 45 minutes Bike Trainer

Saturday – Long Run, 17 miles (8:27/mile pace)

Sunday – 5 minutes strength, 60 minutes Bike Trainer

Training Plan

sdrnr-training-plan-wk3

 

About runninginspired

I’m in my mid-40s and have been running for about 19 years. I have finished 24 marathons with a personal best time of 3:04. I currently reside in San Diego, CA. I enjoy running since it keeps you honest and will give back what you put into it. Work hard, but smart, and good results will eventually follow. I like to experiment with training plans, gadgets, shoes, and nutrition to find what works for me. The primary purpose of this blog is to document my training and thoughts about running in my ongoing quest to improve my fitness and health.
This entry was posted in Nutrition, Running, San Diego, Training and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

