San Diego RnR Marathon Training Update (Week 6 of 6)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAYesterday I picked up my bib, t-shirt and bag at the Expo.  The Expo wasn’t crowded, so I was able to get in and out of the Convention Center in about 45 minutes.  It was a nice Expo set-up, about what you would expect for a major city marathon.  There were a lot of big running names promoting goods and giving clinics – Jim Ryun, Rod Dixon, Steve Scott, Mario Fraioli, Josh Cox and Meb Keflezighi to name a few.  I didn’t stick around long enough to hear any of the speakers, but did catch a glimpse of some of them around the Expo.

The training this week has been limited.  Ran some 400s on Tuesday and three miles on Thursday.  I did a bit of stretching on the other days.  Otherwise, just trying to stay hydrated and stay off my feet.

The weather conditions tomorrow will be warm, mostly in the 60s, with cloud cover for the first couple hours.  Not ideal, but not bad either.

The marathon starts at 6:15 am, which means I’ll be waking up around 2:30 am in order to get to the start on time.  I have to park my car downtown between 4:00 ~ 5:00 am and catch a shuttle to the start line at Balboa Park.  Doesn’t sound like a lot of fun, but those are the kinds of things you normally have to deal with for big city marathons nowadays along with lots of traffic and sitting around and waiting for the start.  I think I’m going to begin looking at running smaller marathons in the future, the big ones are not only getting expensive and overly commercialized, but are also starting to get too big for their own good.

Report Card

sdrnr-grade-wk6I ran 10 miles this week – intervals on Tuesday and short tempo on Thursday.  Ate and slept okay.  Didn’t do any cross-training since I’m in the last week of the taper.  Stretched 10 – 30 minutes each days.  Stress was moderate, another busy week at work.  No major injuries, but still battling a mild case of plantar fasciitis in my left heal.  Overall, I’d give myself B this week.

Running Recap (32 miles)

Monday – Off

Tuesday – Intervals (6 x 400s w/400m rest jog between intervals – 1:22, 1:21, 1:21, 1:24, 1:20 and 1:25)

Wednesday – Off

Thursday – Tempo (1 mile warm-up, 2 miles @ tempo pace 7:01 ~ 7:04/mile, 1 mile cooldown)

Friday – Off

Saturday – Off

Training Plan

sdrnr-training-plan-wk6

About runninginspired

I’m in my mid-40s and have been running for about 19 years. I have finished 24 marathons with a personal best time of 3:04. I currently reside in San Diego, CA. I enjoy running since it keeps you honest and will give back what you put into it. Work hard, but smart, and good results will eventually follow. I like to experiment with training plans, gadgets, shoes, and nutrition to find what works for me. The primary purpose of this blog is to document my training and thoughts about running in my ongoing quest to improve my fitness and health.
This entry was posted in Nutrition, Running, San Diego, Training and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to San Diego RnR Marathon Training Update (Week 6 of 6)

  1. Good luck on your marathon. I just began running and my goal is to do a 5k this summer. Reading this definitely inspires me to push myself even more. Thanks for sharing and best of luck with everything 🙂

Leave a Reply

