Movie Review: Spirit of the Marathon II

Spirit-II-Poster-smallThere aren’t many movies about running, so when one comes out, I’m anxiously trying to find a place to see it.  Fortunately, the Spirit of the Marathon II had a special one night showing at the movie theater across the street from my house so there was no way I was going to miss it.  And let me tell you, it was great!

I saw the first Spirit of the Marathon documentary a few years ago and have watched it a couple times since.  The first one was very good, so there were high expectations for the second one.  I was not disappointed.  In fact, I thought this one was a little better, with a great soundtrack and the city of Rome as the backdrop.

The movie followed the journey of seven runners.  There were two elite runners, a mid-packer, two older runners who were cousins, and two first time marathoners.  They all had great stories and struggles, but the common theme was they all found solace in the great sport of running.  In addition, there were various interviews with past and present legend marathoners, from Bill Rogers to Paula Radcliffe, interspersed throughout the movie.

The cinematography was inspirational.  What was so wonderful about this movie was that it had a very international slant to it – only two of the seven runners were Americans.  It was so inspiring that I plan to add the Rome Marathon to my bucket list.  The movie really does live up to its namesake and captures the true spirit of why we run marathons.  I know everyone has their personal reasons of why they run, whether that may be losing weight to trying to resolve a traumatic experience, but deep down, on a subconscious level, I think we all share a desire to connect to something greater than ourselves to try and make sense of it all.

I don’t want to give too much of the movie away, but if you are a runner, you’ll definitely want to see it.  Even if you are not a runner, it is still a great movie and will probably inspire thousands to give the sport a try.

About runninginspired

I’m in my mid-40s and have been running for about 19 years. I have finished 24 marathons with a personal best time of 3:04. I currently reside in San Diego, CA. I enjoy running since it keeps you honest and will give back what you put into it. Work hard, but smart, and good results will eventually follow. I like to experiment with training plans, gadgets, shoes, and nutrition to find what works for me. The primary purpose of this blog is to document my training and thoughts about running in my ongoing quest to improve my fitness and health.
This entry was posted in Marathons, Movies, Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Movie Review: Spirit of the Marathon II

  1. Karen says:

    That they made a second film was a bit of a shock to me. I LOVED the first one and want to see this so much (sigh…Roma!). Unfortunately, it doesn’t appear to have been shown or will be shown in my city. Guess I’ll just have to wait for DVD.

    • Unfortunately, it was a very limited release for one day only at a few hundred theaters. But if you don’t get the DVD, I’m sure it will be available on Netflix, Hulu, or Amazon sooner or later. It was just as inspiring as the first one, so you won’t want to miss it.

      • Kare says:

        Got a tweet from one of the theatre chains up here in Canada saying they’re expecting it to be released here in September. So excited!

Leave a Reply

