Injured Again: Medial Collateral Ligament (MCL)

MCL_SprainDuring last Thursday’s run, I started to experience mild pain on the top of my inside joint of my left knee about four miles into the run.  It got progressively more painful, but I was still able to finish the run without much problem.  I was limping a bit the rest of the day and the following day, but by Sunday, the pain was totally gone.  So I decided to do my Sunday long run and about one mile into the run, the mild pain started again and got progressively worse, but I was still able to finish the 14 mile run.  If I was smart, I would have stopped and headed back home when the pain started.  For the rest of the day yesterday and into today, the pain has me limping a bit again, although it seems to be subsiding as the day goes on.

I’m not 100% certain, but the best I can tell, I may have a mild sprain to my Medial Collateral Ligament (MCL).  I don’t think it is serious because with a couple days rest, I don’t even feel it.  I think all I need to do is rest it.  Fortunately, I’m still early into my training cycle for the AFC Half Marathon, so I’ve decided to take a full week off from running and substitute my runs with sessions on the bike trainer.  I did a moderately intense session on the bike trainer this morning for an hour and didn’t feel any pain, so riding the bike shouldn’t get in the way of my recovery.

This is the first time I’ve experienced this injury and I’m not sure how it happened.  Injuries are frustrating, but are a fact of life as a runner.  I thought this may be an injury I could run through, but I’d be asking for bigger trouble if I continue to do so.  But I think this will only be a minor setback and may actually do me well to get another week’s rest having only run a marathon two weeks ago.

About runninginspired

I’m in my mid-40s and have been running for about 19 years. I have finished 24 marathons with a personal best time of 3:04. I currently reside in San Diego, CA. I enjoy running since it keeps you honest and will give back what you put into it. Work hard, but smart, and good results will eventually follow. I like to experiment with training plans, gadgets, shoes, and nutrition to find what works for me. The primary purpose of this blog is to document my training and thoughts about running in my ongoing quest to improve my fitness and health.
This entry was posted in Injuries, Running. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Injured Again: Medial Collateral Ligament (MCL)

  1. Pingback: AFC Half Marathon Training Update (Week 2 of 10) | Running Inspired Blog

  2. Pingback: AFC Half Marathon Training Update (Week 3 of 10) | Running Inspired Blog

  3. I am getting sharp awful pain inside (a little on the left) my left knee every time i run (recently). I am trying to find some answers… thank you for your post. I will try to self diagnose. However have you ever talked to drs?

    • Hi Anna! Sorry to hear about your knee. I did not go to the doctor to get a diagnoses on my knee, just did my own research and it sounded a lot like a MCL sprain. Fortunately, the pain is not sharp and relatively mild, so I’m not concerned enough yet to get professional help. It seems to get better with time and rest, and I’ve been trying to strengthen the muscles around it, so hope that will help. Hope you are able to find out what is going on with you knee, I know injuries are frustrating to deal with.

      • Thank you for getting back to me 🙂 Self diagnose can be tricky.. however I am definitely going to look deeper into it… It is a very new problem for me really hence I get so confused with why wud I even have it 🙂 Good luck with your runs!

      • Agree, I would probably encourage others to seek a professional, especially if they think it could be something significant. When it comes to the knee, it is a complex area, so it is difficult to really assess what is going on. Fortunately, so far I haven’t had an injury that hurt bad enough or was so chronic that I felt I needed to see the doctor. Maybe not very smart on my part, but I guess I’ve been lucky.

  4. Pingback: AFC Half Marathon Training Update (Week 4 of 10) | Running Inspired Blog

Leave a Reply

