AFC Half Marathon Training Update (Week 2 of 10)

Got in about 5 hours on the bike trainer this week.  Although not the same as running, it still provides a decent aerobic workout.

7.5 hours on the bike trainer this week! Not the same as running, but still provides a decent workout as I recover from my MCL sprain knee injury.

No running this week since I’m recovering from a MCL sprain on the inside of my left knee.  All my aerobic training was on the bike trainer.  The good news is the injury seems to be healing quickly and don’t have any pain.  But I’m going to remain conservative and wait until Tuesday before I run again.  In the meantime, I’ve been substituting my runs with sessions on the bike trainer.  To alleviate the boredom of the bike trainer, I’m either listen to a podcast or watch a movie on my iPad to pass the time.

Despite not being able to run, I feel I got a quality week of training in.  When faced with a running injury, I think two things are important.  First, don’t be so stubborn, like I tend to be, and run through an injury.  In most cases, if you catch it early enough and take a few days off, that is usually enough time for it to heal and get back on track.  Second, when you can’t run because of injury, have a cross-training backup plan to maintain your fitness.  I personally like the bike trainer since I seem to get a relatively good aerobic workout on it without further aggravating running injuries.  As long as I’m not sidelined from running for weeks on end, I can usually get back to previous running fitness level within a couple weeks as long as I maintained some form of aerobic training.  There are a lot of runners who don’t have a injury back-up plan and injuries will happen to 50% of runners during a marathon training cycle.  This is unfortunate since many of these runners will stop exercising entirely and eventually lose their hard fought fitness and motivation.  Once they are ready to start running again, they have lost many weeks in their training cycle.

Report Card

afc-grade-wk2Running:  (F) No running this week, recovering from an MCL injury.

Sleep:  (C) 7 – 8 hours of sleep most nights.  20 minute afternoon naps on a some days.

Diet/Hydration:  (B) Ate a balanced diet and minimal junk food.  Plenty of fruits and vegetables.  Didn’t overeat any meals this week.  But giving myself a B since I didn’t maintain good hydration most of the week.

Weight/Body Fat:  (B) Lost about one pound from last week, but my body fat continues to fall to the single digits.  Current weight is 147 lbs.  Body fat is around 9.3%.

Cross-Training/Stretching:  (A) Lots of quality cross-training this week.  7.5 hours on the bike trainer; three 15-minute core sessions; three 20 – 25 minute strength training sessions; and four 20-minute yoga sessions.

Stress Management:  (A) Stress free week.

Body Condition/Injuries:  (B) Injury in the MCL of my left knee earlier this week and mild plantar fasciitis in the left heal.  No more pain in the MCL, but going to give it a couple more days.  Otherwise, feeling pretty good.

Overall:  (B) Although I didn’t run, it was a productive week.

Training Recap

Running:  0 miles

Total Exercise Time:  10 hours, 40 minutes

Monday – 15 minutes core, 1 hour bike trainer, 20 minutes yoga

Tuesday – 1 hour bike trainer, 20 minutes strength

Wednesday – 15 minutes core, 45 minutes bike trainer, 20 minutes yoga

Thursday – 1 hour bike trainer, 20 minutes strength

Friday – 15 minutes core, 45 minutes bike trainer, 20 minutes yoga

Saturday – 25 minutes strength, 1 hour bike trainer

Sunday – 2 hours bike trainer, 20 minutes yoga

afc-training-plan-wk2

About runninginspired

I’m in my mid-40s and have been running for about 19 years. I have finished 24 marathons with a personal best time of 3:04. I currently reside in San Diego, CA. I enjoy running since it keeps you honest and will give back what you put into it. Work hard, but smart, and good results will eventually follow. I like to experiment with training plans, gadgets, shoes, and nutrition to find what works for me. The primary purpose of this blog is to document my training and thoughts about running in my ongoing quest to improve my fitness and health.
This entry was posted in Running, San Diego and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

