AFC Half Marathon Training Update (Week 5 of 10)

This was a good week of training.  I’m beginning to acclimate to the heat and was finally was able to put in some speed work.  Although I’m not where I hoped to be with my running when I started this training plan, with the additional cross-training and I’m not too far off and feel I can get to a good place before the half marathon.  I’m still struggling with a little MCL pain in my left knee, but it continues to improve each week.  Otherwise, the body is holding up pretty well.

One thing I changed this week was to avoid refined sugars as much as possible.  It was a little more difficult than I thought it would be since I craved it considerably the first few days.  But as the week progressed, the cravings subsided somewhat.  I’m mainly doing this to see if this will help me lose another percentage of body fat — I’ve seemed to have plateaued the last few weeks and heard this may work.  So far, seems to be working.

Report Card

afc-grade-wk5Running:  (A) Ran 33 miles this week, with two speed sessions on Tuesday and Thursday and a decent long run on Sunday.  Although my speed isn’t where I was hoping to be five weeks in, all three runs this week were of quality.

Sleep:  (B) 7 – 8 hours of sleep most nights and an short afternoon nap most weekdays.  However, it is has been a little warm at night, so the quality of sleep hasn’t been great.

Diet/Hydration:  (A) Kept relatively hydrated and ate balanced meals with very little junk food.

Weight/Body Fat:  (A) My weight and body fat fell moderately from last week.  My weight fell from 146.7 lbs to 146.0 lbs and body fat from 9.2% to 9.0%.  Attribute this improvement from significantly curtailing refined sugars.

Cross-Training/Stretching:  (A) Lots of quality cross-training this week.  3.25 hours on the bike trainer; one mountain bike ride; three 15-minute core sessions; three 20 – 30 minute strength training sessions; and three 20-minute yoga sessions.

Stress Management:  (A) Stress was low this week.

Body Condition/Injuries:  (B) MCL injury in left knee continues to improve – probably about 90% healed.  Mild plantar fasciitis in the left and right heal – no change from last week.

Overall:  (A) Really needed a good week like this.  Feel everything is trending upward and I’m on the right path.

Training Recap

Running:  33 miles

Total Exercise Time:  10 hours, 49 minutes

Monday – 15 minutes core, 45 minutes bike trainer, 20 minutes yoga

Tuesday – Interval Run, 3 x 1 mile w/2 minute jog between intervals (6:32, 6:38, and 6:29), 20 minutes strength

Wednesday – 15 minutes core, 45 minutes bike trainer, 45 minute mountain bike ride

Thursday – Tempo Run on hilly route, 1 mile warm-up, 6 miles @ tempo pace (6:56, 6:52, 7:04, 6:49, 6:55, 6:44) 2.5 miles cool-down, 25 minutes strength

Friday – 15 minutes core, 45 minutes bike trainer, 20 minutes yoga

Saturday – 30 minutes strength, 1 hour bike trainer

Sunday – Long Run, 15 miles (average pace 7:52/mile), 20 minutes yoga

afc-training-plan-wk5

About runninginspired

I’m in my mid-40s and have been running for about 19 years. I have finished 24 marathons with a personal best time of 3:04. I currently reside in San Diego, CA. I enjoy running since it keeps you honest and will give back what you put into it. Work hard, but smart, and good results will eventually follow. I like to experiment with training plans, gadgets, shoes, and nutrition to find what works for me. The primary purpose of this blog is to document my training and thoughts about running in my ongoing quest to improve my fitness and health.
This entry was posted in Running, San Diego and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to AFC Half Marathon Training Update (Week 5 of 10)

  1. musingrunner says:

    Wow! You did have a good week. I hope this week is as good or better. Nice training.

Leave a Reply

