Idea 4: Start Your Run Before 5 A.M.

1409036_morning_gloryFor the past 13 years, I got into the habit of doing my runs before the crack of dawn.  There are just so many benefits to it, that I’m surprised I’m usually the only one out there on the roads.  My routine has been to wake up around 4:15 am and out the door by 4:30 am.  If you have never done an early morning run, it takes some getting used to, but your body will adapt.

My recommendation is to start before 5 am since you can get a solid hour of running in before the hustle and bustle of the day begins.  You start too much later than this, then you may begin competing with the commuter traffic.

Here’s are a list of benefits I’ve experienced by running early in the morning.

1.  The air is much cleaner, no breathing exhaust fumes.

2.  No need for sunscreen.

3.  Peace and silence of the morning.

4.  Beautiful morning views.

5.  Less chance of your running being disrupted or cancelled because of a meeting or you are just too tired from a hard day at work.

6.  Get the endorphin fix early in the morning to carry you through the day.

7.  Not sure if it is true, but they say you burn more fat when your run in the morning.

8.  You get to explore your community in a different light.  I remember running around downtown Yokohama and it was just a different world in the early morning compared the rest of the day.  I would see movies being filmed, drunks laid out on the sidewalks, events being set-up — every day was an adventure.

9.  Very few cars and no need to wait at the stop lights (just make sure you look both ways first).

10.  Avoid the heat of the day during the hot summer months.

Give it a try, you may like it.

About runninginspired

I’m in my mid-40s and have been running for about 19 years. I have finished 24 marathons with a personal best time of 3:04. I currently reside in San Diego, CA. I enjoy running since it keeps you honest and will give back what you put into it. Work hard, but smart, and good results will eventually follow. I like to experiment with training plans, gadgets, shoes, and nutrition to find what works for me. The primary purpose of this blog is to document my training and thoughts about running in my ongoing quest to improve my fitness and health.
This entry was posted in Ideas, Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

