Idea 5: Weigh Yourself Daily

I use the EatSmart Precision scale.

I use the EatSmart Precision GetFit Digital Body scale.

When training for an upcoming race, I get in the habit of weighing myself every day.  For consistency purposes, I do it at the same time, usually as soon as I wake up each morning.  I also closely monitor my fat percentage as it is another metric that is correlated to whether or not your fitness level is improving.  When my fat percentage decreases, then I know I’m trending the right direction with my training.

Make sure to record your weight and fat percentage, just like you would a training log.  Expect fluctuations of one to three pounds between weigh-ins due to hydration levels, so don’t be too discouraged or overly excited if you gain or lose a pound from one day to the next.  I’m usually not too concerned about my daily weight, but focus more on my average weekly weight and fat percentage and compare that weight and fat percentage to the prior weeks to determine whether or not adjustments need to be made.

You may ask why not just weigh yourself weekly then?  Because I think taking your daily average for the week is a more representative sample because more data points lessens the chance variability and false conclusions.  If I only did it once a week and I was significantly more dehydrated from the weigh-in from the prior week, I may conclude I’m making good progress and losing weight, but that may not really be the case because it is just water weight.  Also, a daily weigh-in provides you feedback on your hydration levels and keeps you on the straight and narrow.

Below is a chart of my daily weigh-ins and fat percentage so far for the month of July.

daily-weight

About runninginspired

I’m in my mid-40s and have been running for about 19 years. I have finished 24 marathons with a personal best time of 3:04. I currently reside in San Diego, CA. I enjoy running since it keeps you honest and will give back what you put into it. Work hard, but smart, and good results will eventually follow. I like to experiment with training plans, gadgets, shoes, and nutrition to find what works for me. The primary purpose of this blog is to document my training and thoughts about running in my ongoing quest to improve my fitness and health.
This entry was posted in Ideas, Nutrition, Running, Training and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

