Idea 10: Plan Your Race Schedule 12 Months Out

planningBy nature, I’m a planner. After finishing this spring marathon season, I decided to plan out my races for the next 12 months. I may throw in a small race as the year progresses, but have my major races locked in.

For the next 12 months I plan to run 4 half marathons and 2 full marathons. I signed up as soon as possible since many of these races sell-out early. I was also able to take advantage of the early sign-up discounts. Planning early for races has worked out well for me so far as I have yet to miss any race I’ve signed up for.

Always having a race on my scope keeps me motivated – and once I’ve paid, I’m committed. Without a target race, I tend to slack off and lose focus and discipline. The key is to make a realistic plan. The first 6 month of races will my build-up period and the second 6 month of races will hopefully be my faster races. I tried to space out my races at least one to two months apart and two full marathons about 4 months apart.

Upcoming Races

– 8/18/13, America’s Finest City Half Marathon

– 11/17/13, Silver Strand Half Marathon

– 1/19/14, Carlsbad Marathon (Full)

– 3/9/14, San Diego Half Marathon

– 4/27/14, La Jolla Half Marathon

– 5/25/14, Mountain 2 Beach Marathon (Full)

About runninginspired

I’m in my mid-40s and have been running for about 19 years. I have finished 24 marathons with a personal best time of 3:04. I currently reside in San Diego, CA. I enjoy running since it keeps you honest and will give back what you put into it. Work hard, but smart, and good results will eventually follow. I like to experiment with training plans, gadgets, shoes, and nutrition to find what works for me. The primary purpose of this blog is to document my training and thoughts about running in my ongoing quest to improve my fitness and health.
This entry was posted in Ideas, Marathons, Running, San Diego and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

