AFC Half Marathon Training Update (Week 8 of 10)

Two weeks to go before the America’s Finest City Half Marathon.  Definitely not where I hoped to be two weeks out from the race, but feel I’m continuing to trend in the right direction and should be in a good place for my next training cycle.

This was an okay week of training, but felt flat most of the week.  I did get in a decent long run on Sunday morning which gave me a little lift at the end the week, but it was just one of those weeks where you feel you are just going through the motions.  I attribute it to not sleeping well, stress and eating out too much.

Report Card

afc-grade-wk8Running:  (B) Ran 31 miles this week.  Ran 4 x 1200s intervals on Tuesday, 6-mile tempo on Thursday and 15 mile long run on Sunday.  Although I ran the planned mileage, my interval and tempo run were flat.

Sleep:  (C) 6 – 8 hours of sleep most nights and short afternoon nap on a few days.  Quality of the sleep was erratic.

Diet/Hydration:  (B) Kept hydrated, but ate out a few times this week, so didn’t eat as healthy as I usually do.

Weight/Body Fat:  (C) My weight increased 1.7 lbs, from 145.0 lbs to 146.7 lbs.  My body fat increased 0.4% from 8.7% to 9.1%.  Will need to be a little more disciplined this week, not a good trend.

Cross-Training/Stretching:  (A) Lots of quality cross-training this week.  3.25 hours on the bike trainer; one round of golf; three 15-minute core sessions; three 20 minute strength training sessions; and three 20-minute yoga sessions.

Stress Management:  (C) Close family member is very sick, so the stress was a little higher than usual this week.

Body Condition/Injuries:  (B) MCL injury in left knee about the same as last week.  Mild plantar fasciitis in the left and right heal – no change from last week.

Overall:  (B) Not a bad week, but not a great week either.

Training Recap

Running:  31 miles

Total Exercise Time:  9 hours, 41 minutes

Monday – 15 minutes core, 45 minutes bike trainer

Tuesday – Interval Run, 4 x 1200s w/2 minute jog between intervals (5:06, 5:07, 5:07, 5:04) – planned to run 6 x 1200s, but misprogrammed my Garmin, 20 minutes strength

Wednesday – 15 minutes core, 45 minutes bike trainer, 20 minutes yoga

Thursday – Tempo Run 1 mile warm-up, 6 miles @ tempo pace (7:09, 7:12, 7:13, 7:24 7:16, 6:58) 1 mile cool-down, 20 minutes strength

Friday – 15 minutes core, 45 minutes bike trainer, 20 minutes yoga

Saturday – 45 minutes, 1 round of golf, 20 minutes strength

Sunday – Long Run, 15 miles (average pace 7:43/mile), 20 minutes yoga

afc-training-plan-wk8

About runninginspired

I’m in my mid-40s and have been running for about 19 years. I have finished 24 marathons with a personal best time of 3:04. I currently reside in San Diego, CA. I enjoy running since it keeps you honest and will give back what you put into it. Work hard, but smart, and good results will eventually follow. I like to experiment with training plans, gadgets, shoes, and nutrition to find what works for me. The primary purpose of this blog is to document my training and thoughts about running in my ongoing quest to improve my fitness and health.
This entry was posted in Running, San Diego and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

